We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't go wrong with this hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coast Bastion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coast Bastion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong with this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

If you're staying in Nanaimo the Coast Bastion is a great place to stay. I stay there several times a month on business and it's always good. They have a restaurant in the hotel, and lots of other choices within a 5 min walk of the hotel. Parking is underground and I've never had any issues. If you're able, request a room on the higher floors, they have better views.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Stuart604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    407
    114
    29
    15
See reviews for
220
418
63
395
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Was excellent. Room was clean and comfortable and a great view. Very relaxing, laid back atmosphere.
Food was good in restaurant. Fitness facility was excellent. Walking distance to the harbour. Central location on the island made it easy to see and do a lot. Had a great time, would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 1dc1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Very nice finishing and furnishings with a sweet little balcony with a cracking view of the water's edge. Very comfortable bed and modern bathroom; all immaculately clean! Huge tv with great picture and wonderful air conditioning during a heat wave. The restaurant and bar also did not disappoint. Very good food and excellent service. I highly recommend this hotel which was worth every penny and is probably the best in town.

Room Tip: Get a room high up with a view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bromovancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Had an outstanding time. Enjoyed Breakfast, lunch , dinner, lounge and room service. Never had so many good experiences with staff. Travelled throughout Canada for 35 years. Every province. Never had a better all in time. Location is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights here and everything was great. Good location right above the ocean walk way. A very nice on site restaurant and many other shops and restaurants with in walking distance. If you are going to Nanaimo and not on a budget then this is the place.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GummyStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear GummyStewart,

Thank you for recently staying with us at the Coast Bastion Hotel. We value each guest, as we know that you have a choice when deciding where to stay while here in Nanaimo on business or pleasure.

We strive to exceed our guest expectations by providing the right room, the right technology and the right service to make every stay relaxing, invigorating, stimulating and filled with positive interactions.

Thank you again for your feedback, we truly appreciate knowing about our guest’s experiences so we can celebrate our successes and address our challenges to better serve you in the future. We look forward to your return when you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
91 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed one night in the Coast Bastion hotel in Nanaimo as we had to take the ferry to Horseshoe Bay very early the next morning.
And when you’re visiting Vancouver Island for tourist purposes, I guess that’s the only reason to book a hotel in this city.
The hotel was a nice surprise as it's contemporary decorated and the room was very luxurious. I never had for instance such a huge TV in a hotel room.
Staff is very friendly, in line with most of the Canadians we met. There’s a huge parking garage next to the hotel, with direct access to the hotel. It’s not complementary but very convenient. We did not have breakfast in the hotel due to the early leave but knowing the Coast brand, it’s very ‘North American’ style. If you like toast, Belgian waffles and other high calorie stuff you will definitely love it.
In summary, the hotel served our purposes: being close to Departure Bay (less then 10min away) and have a good night sleep.
The town itself is not very attractive. Very few places to have a decent diner. Although, I could recommend the Fibber Magees Station which is a 20 min. walk from the hotel and located in an old train station.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christof V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel for two weeks. I have got upgraded sea-view room which was nice..Clean room...Nice and Comfort bed...and good bathroom amenities.

Breakfast was not with many varieties. May be okay for people like to have some light breakfast....

Staffs are nice and friendly. worth for the money what you pay...

I recommend this Hotel..

Room Tip: Ask for Sea View room...you will be like..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alaguraja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
5.1 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN  Dorchester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#7 of 19 in Nanaimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn
5.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#10 of 19 in Nanaimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Bastion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Bastion Hotel

Property: Coast Bastion Hotel
Address: 11 Bastion St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 6E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
#1 Family Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Bastion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenience of location and beautiful ocean views from one of the best downtown Nanaimo hotels. Located near the BC Ferries Terminal on Nanaimo's inner harbour, the Coast Bastion Hotel is steps away from the seawall walk-way, Swy-a-lana Lagoon park, specialty shops, superior dining and quaint cafes. Take in a contemporary west coast designed dining experience at Minnoz Restaurant & Lounge. Featuring the freshest local seafood and meats, pasta dishes, gourmet breakfast and tapas. For those in need of relaxation & rejuvenation Pure Spa and Studio 31 are located in the hotel and look forward to pampering you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Coast Bastion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Bastion Hotel Nanaimo
Coast Bastion Nanaimo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing