We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the best hotel in Nanaimo....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coast Bastion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel last week and were happy with it's amenities, cleanliness, modern design, views, and with the sleek bar/dining that they have. We had the harbor view room and it was spacious and very clean.It is right downtown and walking distance to the main drag, convention center, and harbor. I would absolutely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renee94903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,144 - 1,150 of 1,588 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was our first stay at a Coast hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Unfortunately we checked in quite late (11 pm) and really didn't have the time to enjoy the area around the hotel. After a very restful sleep we did have time to enjoy the area around the hotel as a result of a late checkout. There are a great selection of shops and restaurants within a short walk of the hotel.As a bonus we had to get a few (four ) of their great pillows that made our sleep so wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funguyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was our second stay in Nanaimo as a stop-over for the ferry back to Washington. Our stay at a different hotel last year was not a positive one, so we were very happy to discover the Coast Bastion. The room was very clean and comfortable, within walking distance to the harbor and our favorite bar, Fibber Magees, and we would definitely stay again if we were passing through.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 15th floor and couldn't hear our neighbors at all. The noise outside would like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
1  Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The room is clean and spacious and has a great view of the harbour. The bed and linens are first class. Plus the bathroom is well supplied with toiletries.

We went for supper at the Minnoz which is the hotel restaurant and they were very accommodating. My husband is following a very strict diet and between the waiter and the chef they were able to provide my spouse with the perfect meal.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 910
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AmalfiRegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a brief stay at this hotel on July 18, check in was easy and painless. The fellow at the front desk could have been a bit more helpful but possibly he didn't know the area.
Hotel room was clean.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Blackdayliles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

If you're staying in Nanaimo the Coast Bastion is a great place to stay. I stay there several times a month on business and it's always good. They have a restaurant in the hotel, and lots of other choices within a 5 min walk of the hotel. Parking is underground and I've never had any issues. If you're able, request a room on the higher floors, they have better views.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
Thank Stuart604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Was excellent. Room was clean and comfortable and a great view. Very relaxing, laid back atmosphere.
Food was good in restaurant. Fitness facility was excellent. Walking distance to the harbour. Central location on the island made it easy to see and do a lot. Had a great time, would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
Thank 1dc1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
6.6 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
0.8 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
310 reviews
0 mi away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
346 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#12 of 18 in Nanaimo
182 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 18 in Nanaimo
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Bastion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Bastion Hotel

Address: 11 Bastion St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 6E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range: £80 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Bastion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenience of location and beautiful ocean views from one of the best downtown Nanaimo hotels. Located near the BC Ferries Terminal on Nanaimo's inner harbour, the Coast Bastion Hotel is steps away from the seawall walk-way, Swy-a-lana Lagoon park, specialty shops, superior dining and quaint cafes. Take in a contemporary west coast designed dining experience at Minnoz Restaurant & Lounge. Featuring the freshest local seafood and meats, pasta dishes, gourmet breakfast and tapas. For those in need of relaxation & rejuvenation Pure Spa and Studio 31 are located in the hotel and look forward to pampering you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Coast Bastion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Bastion Hotel Nanaimo
Coast Bastion Nanaimo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing