We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable hotel .....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coast Bastion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coast Bastion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
81 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Very comfortable hotel .....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Room was on 5th floor with a harbour view. Spacious, modern room with eclectic furniture, very comfortable, especially the beds. Loved the chaise lounge for reading and looking out of the window at the great view. Perfectly functional, modern bathroom, good toiletries. Friendly, efficient staff. Good central position for walking around the harbour, bay area and town. Easy parking which is always appreciated when staying in a town centre.

My only little gripe is that when the patio door was open the road noise was really loud. However on higher floors this would, presumably reduce, and with the door closed (which at night it would be) the room was quiet.

Had a light dinner in the restaurant and breakfast the following morning which were both enjoyable. Nice bar area for a pre-dinner drink.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    405
    114
    29
    15
See reviews for
220
418
63
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
162 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here with a friend for two nights in Room 808. We had a view of the ocean, and our room was very clean, well kept, and in great condition. We were right near the Seawall Walkway which was great. Easy access to many areas around the island by car, and a great place to come back to after a long day of adventuring.

Coast has an awesome practice of providing full-size shampoo, conditioner, body wash and lotion bottles to reduce waste. There's no need at all to bring your own. They also provide smaller sizes of each and small sizes of soap, mouthwash, etc.

An amazing hotel that I will definitely stay at again. At this price, you absolutely can not beat it!

Room Tip: Room 808 has an awesome view of the ocean, though is right near an intersection (if noise bothers yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel11223344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed in a room with a queen bed with a great view; clean comfy room; good cleaning service; friendly staff; dog friendly room. We were close enough to Nanaimo to come and go to events there too.

Room Tip: Our view was wonderful and would want a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
Thank happytraveller123637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The first room we were given had wet carpeting in some spots. We called the front desk to report the problem. We were given a new room and the concierge immediately moved our bags. What you get is a spacious room with a great view of Gabriola Island and the mountains off in Vancouver. The hotel is centrally located to a number of restaurants within a easy walk. You are also across the street from the promenade where you can take a leisurely walk along the water. The bathroom comes fully loaded with all kinds of lotions and washes. It also has a message showerhead to which was needed after a full day of kayaking.

Room Tip: The junior suite comes with a nice livingroom area with a chaise chair, small dining table and two a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We found this hotel to be a great stay. We were here only one night but everything was immaculate.

The hotel is close to the ferry terminal. The beds were comfy and there was no sound from the road outside.

We ate in the restaurant downstairs; lovely meal.

Room Tip: Harbour room would be good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Welsh_Bev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

...close to the waterfront and promenade, modern clean room, but most importantly the staff managed to handle my error in booking - I'd booked online and messed up the dates! - found a room for us and our old dog really quickly, even though the pet friendly rooms were full...really appreciated their attention to our needs...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
Thank SUSAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
169 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

The Coast Bastion was a perfect way to begin our 4-day VC Island vacation. Check-in was easy and our 11th floor upgraded room has a view to die for. Front desk staff were helpful with suggestions for dinner, and the location can't be beat if you are interested in strolling along the harbor front. The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. Free WiFi is a plus.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
5.1 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN  Dorchester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#7 of 19 in Nanaimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn
5.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#10 of 19 in Nanaimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Bastion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Bastion Hotel

Property: Coast Bastion Hotel
Address: 11 Bastion St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 6E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nanaimo
#1 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Bastion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenience of location and beautiful ocean views from one of the best downtown Nanaimo hotels. Located near the BC Ferries Terminal on Nanaimo's inner harbour, the Coast Bastion Hotel is steps away from the seawall walk-way, Swy-a-lana Lagoon park, specialty shops, superior dining and quaint cafes. Take in a contemporary west coast designed dining experience at Minnoz Restaurant & Lounge. Featuring the freshest local seafood and meats, pasta dishes, gourmet breakfast and tapas. For those in need of relaxation & rejuvenation Pure Spa and Studio 31 are located in the hotel and look forward to pampering you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Coast Bastion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Bastion Hotel Nanaimo
Coast Bastion Nanaimo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing