We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$71/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 28/07
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Painted Turtle Guesthouse(Nanaimo)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,696)
Filter reviews
1,696 results
Traveller rating
974
519
138
43
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
974
519
138
43
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminnoz restaurantgreat viewparking garagegreat hotelroom servicesmall balconyharbour viewdowntown nanaimofront desk staffhotel restaurantgreat roomcentral locationclean roomseasy accesschaiseconferenceelevator
Filter
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 1,696 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2017

This is arguably the best hotel in Nanaimo. This was my second stay here and not my last. It is centrally located and in a pleasant neighborhood. The check-in process was quite easy and the staff were all very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 777FG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry T, General Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you for the great review, we hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Rooms were clean, staff were friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed our stay for sure! The decor and furniture were modern but welcoming, bathroom was clean and large. Staff were helpful when I wanted to surprise my wife with a bottle of sparkling wine! We loved it. The only downside was that the Wi-Fi was terrible on our floor. Was hard to connect and once we did it was super slow. But other than that it was a positive experience. Also a little on the pricey side.

Room Tip: Don't expect to use the wifi if you stay on the higher floors. Otherwise, loved our stay
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
Thank Moses Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry T, General Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you for staying with us, please check to see if we have any specials. Look forward in having you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

This is one of the best hotels we stayed at on our month long tour around BC !! We stayed twice visiting the island from Vancouver several times..most of the rooms if not all..(I'm not sure )have a stunning view across the harbour with a small balcony..and of course the higher you go the better the view! Lovely spacious rooms great toiletries ,fridge,robes,everything you could want or need. Great restaurant breakfast and evening meal and bar snacks.fabulous helpful staff everywhere..great to see men working in reception !!
Superb location for a stroll ..watch float planes..shops galleries restaurants nearby and The Bastion is across the road to visit as well..even accompanied in the mornings by a piper..if that's your thing..I forgot to ask what the bagpipe connection was??
Would stay again in a heartbeat!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank bvibaby98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry T, General Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Our views our stunning and we happy to see we were one of the best hotels that you stayed in all month. Hope you had a great holiday and look forward in having stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

King room on 9th floor, we were allowed to check in quite early. The room was spotless and had a terrific view. Check in and check out were quick and efficient. Breakfast in the restaurant was good although not inexpensive.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W4126UMpeterd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry T, General Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you for staying with us, and you are right the views are terrific. Please come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We were in town for business. Last minute stay. Signed up for their loyalty program online. Booked a room via their website without issue. Incredible view of the harbor. Clean rooms. Well maintained property. Friendly knowledgeable staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
Thank Slatco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry T, General Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you for signing up for our Loyality program, we look forward in having you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews