We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coast Bastion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver,bc
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“fantastic hotel, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

My family and I stayed in this hotel over the festival weekend in Nanaimo. We had requested an upgraded room with harbour view, and this was definately worth paying extra for. The room is probably double the size of a regular hotel room, had a very comfortable king bed, nice sitting area and flat screen tv. Everything had been recently renovated (new furniture, carpet in the room. Hallways and elevator are still 80's style but apparently being renovated now). There was an amazing harbour view and a small balcony from which to see the fireworks on saturday night.
Bathroom was a good size, lots of towels, nice to see that the liquid soap is in an eco friendly big container, and low flush toilets. Good water pressure in the shower.
We had a seventeen month old toddler and it was really nice to find out that they had a playpen/crib that was free to use during our stay, including bedding, it was brought to our room right away after check in.

Service was great, all the staff at the desk were very friendly and helpful, when our toddler locked the bathroom door by accident, staff were there to fix it promptly, within 10 or 15 minutes. If you have a child you they even provide a free cookie and milk in the evening!
We were worried that the hotel would be noisy, as there were a lot of parties that weekend, and people on the street, but it was very quiet in the hotel.

The morning brunch at the hotel was very reasonably priced and had a decent variety of hot and cold food. There are also a number of restaurants on the same block that are excellent- we really enjoyed the Acme restaurant which had a live band and they didn't seem to mind a small child. There is also a good french pastry shop up the street. The harbour and very nice boardwalk are within walking distance, as is the conference center and a giant playground which is fantastic for older kids too.
It was nice that the parade on saturday came right by the street in front of the hotel. We didn't know about this when we made the booking.

The only thing that was confusing was the parking is in a parkade behind the hotel, there is limited space to pull up in front of the hotel for check in.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surferchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    414
    117
    30
    15
See reviews for
227
424
66
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

I would definitely stay at this hotel again. I stayed here with 4 other co-workers and we all were very happy with our rooms. There are small but very well designed. They have great bathrooms. beautiful looking and very well designed. Were all very happy with our views and you can't ask for a better location.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dharmaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

We stayed at the Coast while exploring the Nanaimo and Parksville area - the rooms were recently renovated and were very modern and trendy. Front desk staff were helpful and provided us with some great tips of what to see in the region in a limited time. Highly recommend taking the ferry across the harbor to the Dinghy Dock!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank extra2816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

We stayed in Nanaimo for 5 nights in late May. The staff were very friendly, polite and helpful. Rooms were recently redocoated and very stylish, with every amenity one would need. Be sure to ask for a room facing the harbour if you want a spectacular view. It may be slightly noisier with float planes taking off and landing regularly during daylight hours, but it didn't bother us, and we enjoyed watching them. While in Nanaimo, we had friends staying at other hotels, and they all wished they had booked the Coast Bastion. It is a perfect location as you can walk to everything. The spa is beautiful too! We highly recommend the Coast.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank multitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

Despite my polite greetings and a big smile, the front desk clerk looked like he hated me! He gave me this bone-chilling cold stare and impatiently sighed and rolled his eyes upwards when I asked him to repeat his parking instructions. I thought for a moment the reason for him being so cold. I wondered if it had anything to do with me being an Asian in this small town. I was a professional woman travelling with family for a children’s sporting event. Later on, I caught the same clerk giving others the same cold and hateful stare. OK, maybe there was nothing personal in his coldness, but this is definitely not a person who should work in the hotel industry. I have never met any clerk being so unpleasant in my travel around the world!

Thankfully, the clerk did allow us to check in early. The room was a nice surprise! It has just been renovated and the decoration and furniture were fresh and trendy. The beds and quilts were comfortable. The bathroom was clean and shinning. The ocean and harbor view was nice. The free wireless internet was working. When I noticed that we couldn’t lock the door, the front desk sent up a maintenance worker immediately and took two tiny door stoppers out of the frame. The parkade was not inside the hotel and it looked unsafe. We cleaned out our car before leaving.

When I checked out the next morning, I braced myself of meeting that dreadful clerk again. Luckily this time, the lady at the desk was friendly, pleasant, and efficient. Instead of spending all the money renovating, the hotel may want to think about spending some money on training some of their staff!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leilei_Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater, Maryland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2010

The Coast Bastion Inn is a beautiful hotel located on the water and harbor in Nanaimo BC. The room was recently renovated and was gorgeous. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was beautiful. The balcony is tiny and really just barely enough room to stand on but the view was spectacular. One of the best features of this hotel is its restaurant Minnoz. The dinner was wonderful and breakfast fantastic. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

The room was really up-to-date in style with quality finishings and lots of space, good view. However, as is often the case in North American hotels, there was no ventilation in the bathroom! The hallways are very dingy.

The heater broke down one night but was replaced by a portable one. The service was generally friendly, except the bar tender who had a negative attitude and tossed beer coasters like frisbees at customers. The food was quite good.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Europhile_Pacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
5.1 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN  Dorchester Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 19 in Nanaimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn
5.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#11 of 19 in Nanaimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Bastion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Bastion Hotel

Property: Coast Bastion Hotel
Address: 11 Bastion St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 6E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
#1 Family Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Bastion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenience of location and beautiful ocean views from one of the best downtown Nanaimo hotels. Located near the BC Ferries Terminal on Nanaimo's inner harbour, the Coast Bastion Hotel is steps away from the seawall walk-way, Swy-a-lana Lagoon park, specialty shops, superior dining and quaint cafes. Take in a contemporary west coast designed dining experience at Minnoz Restaurant & Lounge. Featuring the freshest local seafood and meats, pasta dishes, gourmet breakfast and tapas. For those in need of relaxation & rejuvenation Pure Spa and Studio 31 are located in the hotel and look forward to pampering you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coast Bastion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Bastion Hotel Nanaimo
Coast Bastion Nanaimo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing