We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable Stop Whilst On The Island :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Travelodge Nanaimo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Nanaimo
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
2 reviews
“Enjoyable Stop Whilst On The Island :)”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Overall, our short stay at the Travelodge Nanaimo was a success. We arrived in the middle of the night due to complications with another hotel we were staying at in the area, and were greeted with friendly and accommodating service. Rooms were clean, and well equipped with nice flatscreen televisions and very comfortable beds. Continental breakfast in the morning was well stocked and enjoyable. Would definitely consider coming back when next visiting the area.

Room Tip: Just note that rooms on the first floor are adjacent to the parking lot, therefore if curtains are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BballGirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_TravelodgeNanaimo, Guest Relations Team at Travelodge Nanaimo, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.

We are glad we could help with your accommodation needs. We have front desk staff available 24 hours so we can be of assistance to guests looking for accommodation at any time.

Thank you for staying with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards,

Guest Relations Team
Travelodge Nanaimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    103
    69
    17
    14
See reviews for
86
93
21
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burns Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We chanced to stop at the Travelodge during our trip around Vancouver Island. The girl at the desk was friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful. Although all rooms are non smoking each has a little patio or balcony where you can go out and smoke. There are two chairs and it was quiet and great place to enjoy the weather and read our books. Comfy beds and nice continental breakfast made this a great place to spend the night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_TravelodgeNanaimo, Guest Relations Team at Travelodge Nanaimo, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us.

Our front desk staff truly enjoy meeting our guests and providing helpful and friendly customer service.

Our hotel has undergone extensive renovations, including new beds for the comfort of our guests.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Staying for just 2 nights in nanaimo, the travelodge was perfect.
All staff was extremely friendly and helpful, continental breakfast offered a lot of options.
Room was clean and comfortable - the only thing I would change is a loud bathroom fan.
Close to the water for a stroll, places to eat and a convenience store right across the parking lot.
Would stay again and recommend to friends traveling this way

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_TravelodgeNanaimo, Guest Relations Team at Travelodge Nanaimo, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

As you mention, our hotel is ideally located close to downtown, and directly across the street from the waterfront. You can take a stroll along the picturesque boardwalk, watch the seaplanes, take a passenger boat to Newcastle Island nature reserve or walk out on the jetty. Children will enjoy the waterfront park and swimming in the safe, tidal lagoon.

We are also close to a number of popular restaurants and coffee shops within walking distance or a short drive.

Thank you for recommending the Travelodge Nanaimo and hope we can assist you again on future stays in Nanaimo.

Regards,

Guest Relations Team
Travelodge Nanaimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I was recently in need of somewhere in Nanaimo for my 17 year old daughter to stay for one night. she had been at a camp and we could not get her a flight home until the following day. I phoned around and many hotels were not helpful or just turned me down instantly even though we would assume responsibility for the room. It wasn't until I called this hotel that I found someone helpful. They were great and said that this was no problem, we just had to fill a form out first. They passed valuable information on about the shuttle and were just really helpful. When my daughter arrived she was well taken care of, she said the room and location of the hotel was perfect and she got a lot of help from staff about local transit. Thank you Travelodge and particularly Monique for helping us out. I really appreciate that you went the extra mile and you can be assured of our custom next time we are in Nanaimo

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_TravelodgeNanaimo, Guest Relations Team at Travelodge Nanaimo, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your experience at the Travelodge Nanaimo.

We are glad we could help your daughter with her accommodation needs. Our staff are committed to providing the best service possible to ensure guests are taken care of and enjoy their stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.

Regards,

Guest Relations Team
Travelodge Nanaimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night, and got a decent price for downtown Nanaimo. The lobby was recently renovated, and I think some rooms have been updated also. We did have a balcony (could catch a glimpse of water), and the room was spacious. There was a lot of traffic noise from the main road, but it was drowned out once you closed the patio.

There was a continental breakfast offered, which included a waffle maker. That's always a bonus. Items like the bagels were fresh.

It is a short walk to downtown and a great harbour park. But, if mobility is an issue, it's a short drive too - with ample parking available once you get down by the waterfront.

The woman who checked us in was super friendly and funny. She treated us amazingly, and suggested great places to eat (one of which we chose - Trollers - and it was sooo good). She even provided a list of walk in clinics after we inquired about some.

This place isn't fancy, but it's clean and fresh. It's in a superb location, and the beds are comfortable! It worked well for the three of us in our traveling party.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Migimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_TravelodgeNanaimo, Guest Relations at Travelodge Nanaimo, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you mention, our location is ideal, being directly across the street from the waterfront and within walking distance or short drive to downtown and a number of excellent restaurants.

Our complimentary continental breakfast offers a variety of options including fresh muffins, bagels, toast, cold cereals, yoghurt, fruit and coffee, tea and juice. You can make your own fresh hot waffles and enjoy your breakfast on our outdoor patio.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Travelodge Nanaimo and we hope to see you again.

Regards,

Guest Relations Team
Travelodge Nanaimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port albeni
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel has the worst wifi. No bandwidth....so basically you can stream 4 minutes of a video and then it pauses for 10 minutes. Really freakin annoying!!!!!!!!!!!! Give your head a shake Trevelodge. I just tried to send this review using the hotel wifi and I couldn't even do that! I am using my own data to write this.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joesiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nanaimo hotels

Port coquitlam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel looks way better online than 'in the flesh'. Rooms were not clean, towels dirty and stained, blood or as we were told 'rust' in the bathroom. The air conditioner did turn on but didn't make the room cold. Breakfast made me sick not sure how long it say out. And the bed was atrocious!! If you like a good nights sleep don't bother staying here. The only thing this hotel has is a nice location.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandramclellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.6 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,270 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 19 in Nanaimo
467 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
289 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN  Dorchester Hotel
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Nanaimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Nanaimo

Property: Travelodge Nanaimo
Address: 96 Terminal Ave N, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9S 4J2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Nanaimo 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes away from the BC Departure Bay Ferry Terminal and Nanaimo City Centre, British Columbia, this hotel features convenient amenities such as a free WIFI, parking and deluxe continental breakfast.Travelodge Nanaimo is within walking distance of the Harbour Promenade and Seaplanes. The Bastion Building Historical Landmark, Bowen Park and the Historical Museum are within 3 miles (5 km) of the hotel. The Morrell Bird Sanctuary is also nearby.Sauna, recreational facilities and 76 rooms guest rooms are newley renovated. Pet friendly rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Nanaimo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Nanaimo Hotel Nanaimo
Travel Lodge Nanaimo
Nanaimo Travelodge
Nanaimo Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing