We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cool Little Surprise”
Review of Nanaimo Museum

Nanaimo Museum
Ranked #8 of 75 things to do in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nanaimo Museum: Discover Nanaimo’s fascinating history in our new museum located in the VI Conference Centre. The main gallery offers a sense of what life was like for Nanaimo's earliest settlers and the Snuneymuxw First Nation. Our award winning replica coal mine is a special treat. The museum also manages the Bastion, an original Hudson's Bay Company post built in 1853. Don’t miss the gift shop!Museum Hours: 10am - 5pm Monday to SaturdaySummer Hours: Open Daily 10am - 5pm
Lantzville, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A Cool Little Surprise”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Recently visited the Nanaimo Museum over Christmas and had a pleasant surprise. Very nicely done displays and a very cool coal mine tunnel simulation and history of mining and logging in the area. Entrance was by donation and an adjacent Serious Coffee shop made for a special time to de-brief on favorite displays over some nice treats , great espresso and lovely herbal teas. This new location in the conference center is easily accessed and good adjacent parking. You can also step out the doors and onto the shops on Commercial Street or a short walk to the harbor promenade. Nicely done and good fun.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GlenandTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbieNanaimo, Public Relations Manager at Nanaimo Museum, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Nanaimo Museum. We are glad you had a good time - the coal mine is definitely a favourite with our visitors! Please let us know if you have any suggestions that would make your next visit a four or five star experience! See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    57
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“History of a Small Town”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This museum tells the history of Nanaimo and does it so well. Everyone loves the award-winning coal mine display. Several times a year special exhibits are featured and keep the interest level of locals high

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbieNanaimo, Public Relations Manager at Nanaimo Museum, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hi Samantha,

Thank you for taking the time to review us, and especially for the 5 stars! We are very glad you enjoyed your visit.

We've recently opened our newest feature exhibit Canada: Day 1 (a travelling exhibit form the Canadian Museum of Immigration @ Pier 21). We also unveiled our last permanent exhibit space, which tells the story of Nanaimo's Chinatowns, retail development and Heritage Homes.

Hope to see you soon!

Cheers,
The Nanaimo Museum Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good regional museum”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

It is a mid size museum that takes about an hour and a half to go through. Just about right in my book. It was well laid out and interesting. We learned quite a bit about the history of the area and enjoyed doing it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nwtraveler64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great value, informative and friendly”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

What a little gem! Only 2$ each and we spent a good hour or more browsing exhibits on local history! industry and people. It made the rest of our stay in the area so much more interesting. Put it first on your list if you are visiting the area. The staff are good too, and a nice gift shop. Just 2 minutes off the harbour walk.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbieNanaimo, Manager at Nanaimo Museum, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you so much for your 5 star review-we are so glad you enjoyed your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Do not miss!”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

While there are many wonderful museums on Vancouver Island, this one is not to be missed. The interactive exhibits throughout the museum are so engaging and educational The coal mine exhibit does a masterful job of depicting the all important role that coal mining played in the region and multiple facets of the industry, from equipment, safety and cultural issues. The detailed exhibit of the Canadian Arctic expedition in the early part of the 20th century was a true highlight, extremely well done and educational. People of all ages will find this museum a pleasure to visit, and all will leave a little wiser.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbieNanaimo, General Manager at Nanaimo Museum, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thanks so much for the great review! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and took the time to talk about your experience on Trip Advisor-thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nanaimo Museum also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Nanaimo Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing