We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
Nearby Hotels
US$105
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
US$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$125
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buccaneer Inn(Nanaimo)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$112
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$202
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
US$125
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveller rating
66
115
158
51
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
115
158
51
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstim horton's across the streetnice poolferry terminalclean roomsnewcastle islandthe air conditioningfront desk staffclose to downtowncomfortable bedone night staymarina
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
320 - 325 of 424 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 March 2013

It was old and dated however for the price can't really complain about that. Our windows rattled every time a door in the hotel closed. There was road noise and audible music and banging of doors throughout the night. We barely slept. When I brought it to the attention of the check-in staff, he said "Oh sorry, you were booked in a room directly above a noisy rock band. Have you ever heard of The Swollen Members? Anyhow, they are notorious for getting kicked out of hotel's but it looks like last they made it through the night by your account. It's an old hotel, that's why the windows rattle and the road noise is out of our control. Here's your receipt, please come again" I told him that he could count on the fact that I would not be back. They put us in that room knowing full well we wouldn't likely get much rest, and no restitution was even offered for our inconvenience. Won't be back and not sure I would even try another HJ hotel after experiencing that kind of service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Terra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Good Day Terra,
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at the Howard Johnson Harbourside Hotel. I am truly very sorry for the awful stay you had at the hotel.
I do not have any excuses for the conduct or the comments made by the staff at the front desk. The whole situation was handled badly from start to finish with no thought or care for others.
We do learn from valuable feedback about how are service and business is perceived by others. Frankly we just failed miserably across the board. I have personally spoken with the staff members involved and a reaffirmation of customer service training has been instituted. I would like to apologize for the behaviour of the staff and the bad sleep you had at the hotel. I would be very upset if this happened to me, and I totally understand.

Once again please accept our apologies for your unfortunate stay at the hotel.
Sincerely
Erik Brook
Manager of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

The Staff was excellent. The hotel room is very old but clean. The restaurant serves a very good breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Carolynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Carolynn F.
We are so happy that you enjoyed the service at the hotel. I will pass on your great comment to the restaurant. We appreciate you taking the time to post on TripAdvisor - Happy comments are always great
Thank you
Erik Brook
Manager of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 March 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews