We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing fancy but just fine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Newton, Iowa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy but just fine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Howard Johnson of Nanaimo. We can't say enough about how nice and helpful the front desk staff was. While the facility is a little dated it was clean and served the purpose for what we needed. The location was great, the Nanaimo Harbor was a wonderful treat and within walking distance. (the parking lot bunnies were a fun surprise too!)

Room Tip: no elevator, so use the bottom floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayla_DJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Good Day Kayla:
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.
The hotel is an older property but the housekeeping and maintenance staff take great pride in providing very clean on comfortable accommodation. I am so very happy the front desk provided great service. The local bunnies in the parking lot have been here for a couple of years and provide quite a bit of enjoyment for many. Our location next the inner harbour walkway can not be beat - and the views are great.
Thank you again
Sincerely
Erik Brook
Manager of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    100
    146
    42
    29
See reviews for
126
99
42
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

With Howard Johnson, what you pay is what you get. Average 3 star hotel, old fittings but very clean, which for us is the most important thing.

The hotel is within walking distance of downtown Nanaimo, and the walk along the harbour front is pretty. But you will have to walk past the liquor store, in the car park of the hotel, which feeds the gentlemen who drink in the harbour side park.

Walking back along the road in the dark wasn't pleasant, particularly as we had to walk back past the liquor store and the gentlemen drinking in the car park.

The front doors of the hotel aren't locked at night and there was no one manning reception so it didn't feel particularly safe.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cyntheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik B, Manger of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Good Day
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments on Trip Advisor. The hotel is an older property but the housekeeping staff take great pride in providing clean and comfortable rooms. We do have video surveillance and hotel security who work from dusk to dawn. I am sorry that you did not see a person at the reception desk when you entered the hotel this is not a normal situation. With the public park across the street, and the proximity of the liquor store there is the odd occasion of public drinking.
Once again thank you very much for comments
Sincerely
Erik Brook
Manager of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Though we were disappointed with our view of the parking lot (likely because we requested a pet friendly room), we were pleased to be just a few minutes walk from Nanaimo's beautiful harbour. The fitness facility was very well-appointed and the motel's restaurant provided fine fare for both breakfast and dinner.

Room Tip: If you have a pet, the fact that you're not ever supposed to leave it alone in your room can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTipsCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Good Day Travel TIps Calgary
Thank you very much for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate great customer feedback. Some of our pet friendly rooms do face the parking lot side of the hotel.
We are so happy that you enjoyed the fare featured in the restaurant. I have forwarded your comments to the owner/manager of the business. With regards to pets be left unattended in the guest rooms - we thank you for thoughts, and will take this under consideration.

Thank you again
Sincerely
Erik Brook
Manager of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.4 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#7 of 19 in Nanaimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN  Dorchester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
Address: 1 Terminal Ave N, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 5R4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Nanaimo
Nanaimo Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing