We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pool area and outside well kept. The rest of the hotel was...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Nanaimo
1 review
“Pool area and outside well kept. The rest of the hotel was...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Pool area and outside well kept. The rest of the hotel was very old and smelly. Old coil mattresses, horrible pillows. No sound proofing.
Will never stay there again. Cost $125.00 not worth it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik B, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Good Day Janet B
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Howard Johnson Harbourside Hotel Nanaimo.
We are older hotel, but do take pride in providing excellent service, value, and room cleanliness.
I am sorry that the bed was not satisfactory, and the beds are on a purchase rotation and hotel beds are not that old.

Thank you again
Sincerely
Erik Brook
Manager of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    100
    146
    42
    30
See reviews for
127
99
42
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here for almost two months while we were buying a house here. Without exception the staff here are absolutely fantastic. After all that time it began to feel like home and family.

Rates were excellent too.

The housekeeping staff were amazing. Very friendly people.

This hotel is well situated to downtown and the waterfront. You can get to anything in Nanaimo quite easily and the ferry terminal is close by too.

The restaurant is really great too though not fancy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik B, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Hello and thank you
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at the Howard Johnson Harbourside Hotel Nanaimo. The staff take great pride in providing great service, location and value.
Our housekeeping team really strives to ensure cleanliness and comfort in our guest rooms. We try to make sure that the price is relative with the product we have to provide. Our downtown location is fantastic to see inner harbour and other attractions
Best kept secret seems to the outdoor pool.
Thank you very much for your observations and comments - it almost was like being at home
Sincerely,
Erik Brook
Manager of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed here for the night after getting off the ferry. From the outside it looks like an old hotel but they have done a lot of work on the inside to make it up to date. Very comfortable and reasonable. they do not provide breakfast but there is a Tim Horton's across the street.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik B, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review, 1 September 2015
Good Day
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay

The staff take great pride in providing clean and comfortable rooms, great service, location and value.

The management and staff do appreciate customer feedback to see how we are doing. We can only improve our service by hearing from our valued guests.

Thank you again
Erik Brook
Manager of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Surrey, British Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was the only place in Nanaimo that would allow us to stay with our large rotty dog. Erik was very helpful in booking my reservation to include my dog. It is an older property but the room was clean and had no complaints. Thanks again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Myrna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel needs a Reno in the worst way. The rooms smell musty and there was mould in the bathroom. Carpets were tired, no screens in the windows. Beds were tired (as was I).
No breakfast included but there is a restaurant on site. Breakfast wasn't great but there is a Timmie's across the parking lot.
Hotel is really close to the ferry but isn't in a great part of town. Give this one a miss...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathyandcolleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nanaimo hotels

Nanaimo
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I was dissapointed with the dirty smell of the room as well as the quality of beds, tv, and all furniture. I understand that the rooms are cheaper, and the higher end hotels in the area were all booked, but next trip I will plan ahead so as not to have to spend a night in a hotel of that quality. I would gladly spend an extra $30 a night to stay somewhere clean and comfortable

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Calvin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik B, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Good Day Calvin
We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at the Howard Johnson Harbourside Hotel Nanaimo. We are an older property but all the staff take pride and have a passion for providing great service, location and value and room cleanliness. I am sorry that the room had an odour and seemed dusty. I have passed on your comments to our housekeeping team.
Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments
Regards,
Erik Brook
Manager of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.4 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 19 in Nanaimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN  Dorchester Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#11 of 19 in Nanaimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
Address: 1 Terminal Ave N, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 5R4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Nanaimo
Nanaimo Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing