We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult & Dowdy, but with pluses”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This property is in a less-than-ideal location. "Harbourside" is a euphemism for a location next to a liquor store and with a parking lot that, as witnessed by signs and one incident that occurred in my first few minutes there, has issues. It is also difficult to access as the entrance is not off Terminal Avenue. The motel is old and dowdy, though the room was passable in terms of amenities and cleanliness, though the A/C struggled on a hot day. Pluses include easy access to great walks along the harbor, which begin at the lower end of the parking lot and a free pass to a full health club just around the corner.

Room Tip: Third floor is quieter, though not accessible via an elevator
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Double0Seven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik B, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Good day
Thank you for posting your comments on trip advisor.
We are located across the street from the inner harbour and have clean and comfortable rooms.
Yes our street access is a litle challenging due to the hill on our property.

Thank you again for posting on Trip Advisor
Regards
Erik Brook
Manager of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Erik B, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Erik B, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank misty112
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Erik B, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Our room has a fresh, clean smell--no sprays to cover up odors. It was spacious and had a view over the swimming pool. You can walk to a city park and waterfront from there. The bed was very comfortable, and we got a good price for it by booking a couple months ahead of time. We had a nice breakfast at the adjoining restaurant, and the waitress let us sit and chat without bothering us.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladylodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik B, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at the Howard Johnson Harbourside Hotel Nanaimo. We are an older property but all the staff take pride and have a passion for providing great service, location and value and room cleanliness. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments
Regards,
Erik Brook
Manager of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The first thing you notice about this hotel is that is old fashioned. Nothing wrong with this, but some people might be turned off. That's not to say that the rooms were moldy or gross. They were reasonably clean. However, I did find a band aid behind the couch and there was a bottle cap beside the bed. Nothing awful, but the room could've have a more thorough cleaning. We stayed in a big room with a queen bed. There was also a sofabed. Didn't unfold it, but it seemed fine. One thing to note is there is no elevator, but it's only 3 stories with the lobby on the second, so you'll only be ascending or descending one flight of stairs from the check in desk. Sleep quality was fine, staff was very friendly, and the price was right. Also, there's nothing much to do right around the hotel, it's a few minutes to downtown Nanaimo. Didn't go in the pool, but it seemed clean. Solid choice for someone on a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik B, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Good Day Emily
We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at the Howard Johnson Harbourside Hotel Nanaimo. We are an older property but all the staff take pride and have a passion for providing great service, location and value and room cleanliness. I am sorry that the room had a band aid in the room. I have passed on your comments to our housekeeping team.
Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments
Regards,
Erik Brook
Manager of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Pool area and outside well kept. The rest of the hotel was very old and smelly. Old coil mattresses, horrible pillows. No sound proofing.
Will never stay there again. Cost $125.00 not worth it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik B, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Good Day Janet B
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Howard Johnson Harbourside Hotel Nanaimo.
We are older hotel, but do take pride in providing excellent service, value, and room cleanliness.
I am sorry that the bed was not satisfactory, and the beds are on a purchase rotation and hotel beds are not that old.

Thank you again
Sincerely
Erik Brook
Manager of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.4 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,469 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 18 in Nanaimo
520 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
300 reviews
6.3 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
4.7 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Address: 1 Terminal Ave N, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 5R4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
Price Range: £51 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Nanaimo
Nanaimo Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing