We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is the place in Nanaimo for coffee/light meal”

Perkins Coffee Company
Ranked #4 of 18 Coffee & Tea in Nanaimo
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“This is the place in Nanaimo for coffee/light meal”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is the best place in Nanaimo to go for speciality coffees, teas, chocolate, etc. Also has amazing bakery goods - their Nanaimo bars are an experience nothing like the stuff you can buy in grocery stores. They are big, chunky, and flavorful. Great soups and sandwiches, too. The only knock is that it closes at 4 or 5 pm so you can't go there in the evening after theatre.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marigoldmunchkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    24
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Local coffee shop with great service”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I stumbled upon Perkins Coffee Company while walking around downtown Nanaimo in search of a coffee and breakfast. I found a delicious breakfast sandwich and a strong latte served with friendly service. The place seemed to have lots of locals inside, which is always a good sign to me.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LJP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great cookies”
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

If downtown always stop here for a coffee and giant cookie! Delicious! Great little coffee shop in busy area!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daphne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Love This Place!”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I discovered this café thanks to my sister. Their sandwiches are so fresh & yummy with different kinds of bread as per your request. Soups are extremely tasty. Be warned; order half sandwich and small soup. Portions are huge! Great tarts and other tempting little dessert treats. Staff couldn't be nicer. Now, I will always come back here on my visits to Nanaimo.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank HayKay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Why do I keep going there??”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I guess the options are poor but this is also a poor choice. The service is slow and poor and the selections are reflective of that too. Worse still, the prices reflect loftier ambitions for the coffee shop. I could have forgiven all that if the coffee and sandwich was great but they weren't. Just disappointing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueMtn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Perkins Coffee Company also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Perkins Coffee Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing