We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent B&B!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanaimo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Graycliff Cottage Oceanfront B&B
Ranked #10 of 33 Nanaimo B&B and Inns
Bournemouth
2 reviews
“excellent B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Stayed one night at Graycliff in August and couldn't be any happier for our choice. The ocean view was stunning and overall, the location for the house is beautiful and peaceful. After the long day we relaxed in the jazuzzi watching stars which was just perfect.
In the morning Warren made us blueberry pancakes which kept us going late until the afternoon. Was sad that we only had one night booked because it wasn't enough!
Thank you Jan and Warren, we really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonnemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Great place to stay, Warren and Jan have quite the property and to witness the Eagles having a morning breakfast just after we had ours was awesome. We stayed for a couple nights in July 2010 and 2 nights this July of 2012. Have not experienced a better stay anywhere. This last stay we brought our two adult sons, they had there own half of the Cottage and we had the other. We would recommend the Graycliff to anyone who likes a peaceful,warm, and stunning view all around.
Rob&Kimberlee, Red Deer, Alberta

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We were lucky enough to stay 2 nights at Graycliff at the end of July. The experience was nothing short of amazing. From the most spectacular views to the comfortable Oceanview room to the great hospitality from Warren and Jan, this was just a perfect stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandSMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

My husband and I stayed four nights here in June 2012 before leaving on an Alaska cruise. We were welcomed to their beautiful home by Jan. The views were amazing. We stayed in the Garden suite which was a totaly private home away from home. Tour guide books were avaliable and Warren was ful of tips about touring the island. We spent the evenings in the hot tub watching the sun set and the tour boats cruise by. After a wonderful filling breakfast we gathered to see the bald eagles eat theirs. The four nights flew by with different tours each day. Day before leaving I inquired about doing some laundry as Jan had mentioned it upon check in. Sure no problem was the response and Warren even cleaned out the machine upon learning of my soap allergies. The one thing that stood out about my experience was the e-mail we got with pictures of dinning room and guests that Warren sent upon on return home. With a picture of what they thought was our cruise ship passing by! It's the little things that count!

Room Tip: any room would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sierra_Coll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Our clue to this excellent B&B was the directional sign located on the highway that pointed us in the direction of Lantzville Road. Whilst our Garmin sat-nav was busy 'recalculating' we had already arrived at the front door, much relieved to see a vacany sign on display. The welcome by Jan was warm, genuine and friendly. We had to to catch an early morning BC ferry to Horseshoe Bay so for us it was more bed than breakfast.

However Jan had other ideas but first she took us to our garden room, one of two. It was a good size, well appointed, very clean and very comfortable. Next came the short tour of the garden and the guest facilites. Well the view was simply stunning, the elevated position of the property completly overlooks the distant islands and the Sound. The rear garden is a haven for the many, and varied, local birds including a resident eagle perched by its tree top nest. A very tall timber stairway leads to the beach below, which is great to explore or just to wander along.

Chilling out in the garden chairs, enjoying the sunset and our third or forth coffee Jan arrives with our 'take-away' breakfast for the following morning. Fresh fruit and homemade muffins that were simply too good to leave untasted until the next day. It was such a shame we had to depart early for if the muffins were an example of Jan's cooking skills breakfast would have been a dream.

Exceptionally comfy bed, good shower and little or no noise. We saw ourselves out in the morning but would have liked to have stayed here longer. Maybe you will enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thepostie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sw ont
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed at Graycliff in June and were very impressed. We didn't see much of Jan, but Warren was a wonderful host - his knowledge of the island made our tours much more enjoyable. Our room (the Ocean view) was very comfortable and the view was beautiful. Warren also proved himself to be a great breakfast chef.
We were touring the south part of the island and this location was the perfect spot to base ourselves.
We'll be back.

Room Tip: The Ocean View has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stoneySwOnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, FL
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at Graycliff cottage July 11 for 3 days. We stayed in one of the garden rooms, very pleasant. We had stayed there about 10 years ago and remembered their hospiltality, view and the eagles. Each night we relaxed in the hot tub watched the sky grow dark. The property is beautifly kept with many flowers and places to sit and watch the birds and Breakfast was plentiful with choices of cereal, warm toast and jam, eggs, muffins, plenty of tea and coffee and that amazing view! Jatn recommended the pub in Lantzville. Great place for supper or a drink.
We will return if given the chance.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hardchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanaimo
4.4 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
9.5 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hammond Bay Oceanside Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Maple View Bed & Breakfast
23.9 mi away
Beachside Garden B & B
Beachside Garden B & B
#1 of 8 in Ladysmith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
8.3 mi away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#4 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graycliff Cottage Oceanfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graycliff Cottage Oceanfront B&B

Property: Graycliff Cottage Oceanfront B&B
Address: 7550 Lantzville Rd, Nanaimo, British Columbia V0R 2H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 4 star Canada Select Bed & Breakfast in its 20th year of operation. All rooms have private exterior keyed entrance,private en-suite bath, queen bed, Hi Def. Wide Screen TV with cable & movie channels, in room fridge & coffee bar with complimentary coffee, teas, hot chocolate and cream. Telephones for free local calls and wireless internet. We have an outdoor hot tub with panoramic views of Georgia Strait & the coastal mountains. Wonderful wildlife, nesting bald eagles, lots of humming and song birds. Staircase to a private beach. Near golf and lots of shopping. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing