We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch - so fresh!”
Review of 2 Chefs Affair

2 Chefs Affair
Ranked #18 of 320 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent lunch - so fresh!”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We recently stopped by for lunch and were so glad we did. We lucked out as there were a number of tables available when we arrived, but within 10 minutes, there was a line up out the door. I can see why it's popular as the food was fabulous. I had the risotto balls which came with an excellent home made tomato sauce; my wife had the crab clubhouse, which was piled high with fresh crab meat. They made a great grilled cheese off-menu for our 5 year old, who loved dipping it in their HOME MADE ketchup! A fair price for the quality of the food - I highly recommend this restaurant, and can't wait to try their breakfasts!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LowTideTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    82
    28
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“2 "Foodies" loving 2 Chefs Affair”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We were in Nanaimo for a little island getaway. Having lived in Vancouver for 5 years, we have inadvertently become a bit food-snob-ish. We stumbled upon 2 Chefs Affair when hunting for breakfast in the morning. It looked really cute, trendy, and yet comfy. The inviting smell of freshly baked deliciousness was wafting out the door, so we had to check it out. The staff were instantly welcoming and friendly. The coffee was amazing (and we never had to wait for a warm up). My hubby had the very tasty frittata, and I had the MUST-TRY MIND-BLOWING FRENCH TOAST!!! I'm salivating just thinking about it now, as I write this review :) Their menu all looked so yummy, creative (without being pretentious), fresh local high-quality ingredients....so good that we almost stayed for lunch! Our one regret, we didn't have room to try their tasty-sounding version of the Nanaimo Bar. Wish this place was closer to home.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank staffordh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We went here for brunch. We ordered the eggs benny which was good... but very small portions, my 1/2 hash brown cake was so crispy I left it. The latte was very good. If we go back it would just be for lattes.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daphne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We went here on a Saturday afternoon at 1:00pm, based on the good reviews on trip advisor; we weren't disappointed. We were fortunate to get a table, as most tables were reserved. Everyone at the table had the eggs Benedict which was very tasty. We had a peak at some of the plates on other tables and everything looked very good.

I would recommend eating here, make a reservation before you go, there aren't many tables.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnieBDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell River, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best for breakfasts”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

At 2 chefs it's all about quality versus quantity. Definitely not your typical huge plate of gruel you are served at some of the more popular weekend brunch places. Everything is store made and tastes phenomenal. Highly highly recommend if you haven't tried yet

Helpful?
Thank Sc1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 2 Chefs Affair also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to 2 Chefs Affair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing