We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Family souvenir on Vancouver Island”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanaimo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dockside Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 34 Nanaimo B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Family souvenir on Vancouver Island”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Very peaceful along the water, Very nice hosts. We stayed in a small apartment, with 1 bedroom, 1 couch and large kitchen. You can canoe there and the distance to the city ctr is not far to drive.

As much as Victoria and Tofino are full with tourists, the stay was really peaceful and we regretted not to have stayed a 2nd night !

Price wise unbeatable !

Room Tip: DO not forget tho stay over in Nanaimo when you come from the mainland ! Very peaceful location ! th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
15
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I and my two friends thoroughly enjoyed our week at Dockside, and can only re-iterate what the previous posters have said. The suite is spacious, comfortable and immaculate. The breakfasts (including fresh baking) are plentiful, varied and delicious. The location ideal, in a quiet neighbourhood, a ten minute drive from downtown, and five minutes to Westwood Lake which has swimming as well as a nice six km walking path. The garden, with edibles, is so peaceful and relaxing, overlooking a small lake, perfect to sit and read, or just contemplate. James and Alison are thoughtful, pleasant, well informed people who made us feel right at home. The little extra touches such as the treats, the lending library, the hairdryer, the hand lotion. the beach towels and the nightlight (especially useful for us older folk) all added to the feeling of being well looked after. Thanks, James and Alison, for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monique s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2013

First time doing a bed and breakfast and let me tell you, I'll think twice about going to a hotel again! This place is well kept, spacious and a beautiful location. Great price, big comfy beds and wonderful service.

The best part was the breakfast! a completely balanced meal and absolutely delicious!!! lovely lovely, lovely!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Great full apartment-sized suite, with everything you could imagine needing and facing a lovely little lake. Hosts were super pleasant & the breakfast divine and generous. If you're looking for an enjoyable walk, check out the nearby Westwood Lake.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mookiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer AB
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Had the pleasure of staying at 'Dockside B&B' while on weekend business in Nanaimo...Any visitors to the city owe it to themselves, to take in the splendor this lakeside gem offers...superior in every way to any of my plentiful B&B stays over numerous years of travels...fabulous meals...very quiet room for a well rested stay...first choice for next trip back to VI...Thank you James and Alison...: )...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxx53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sointula, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2012

This b&b exceeded expectations. The suite was roomy, well appointed and very quiet overlooking an urban lake. Breakfast was huge and very tasty. Hosts were charming. This will be my choice on future trips to Nanaimo. Well done
Ramsay

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramsay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Great hosts, nice location, comfortable place. Very clean, beautiful view and garden, with coffee table by the lake, perfect for morning cofee. Oh yeah, and delicious breakfast with home made jam and cookies. The only doiwnside is that the apartment is in the basement, meaning that you have to carry your suitcases all the way around the house, down the stairs; so if you travel like us, with half the stuff you own in your suitcases, you have to be fit for the job.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ovidiu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James I, Owner at Dockside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
We're so happy you enjoyed your stay and took the time to write these kind words. It is a bit of a walk to the unit, but it's a pretty walk and we will happily help carry any luggage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
2.5 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,378 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 19 in Nanaimo
321 reviews
3.1 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 19 in Nanaimo
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
295 reviews
3.1 mi away
Long Lake Waterfront B&B
2.2 mi away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#4 of 19 in Nanaimo
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dockside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dockside Bed & Breakfast

Property: Dockside Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2140 Dockside Way, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 6T7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet lakeside location a short drive from both ferry terminals, the airport and downtown. Private entrance leads off the lakeside patio into a full equipped kitchenette. Full breakfast is included and special diets can be accommodated. Contact us with any questions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing