We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Customer Service Ever!”
Review of Colonial Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colonial Motel
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Cambridge, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worst Customer Service Ever!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

It looked like a dive so I decided to go for dinner and check in as late as possible. When I arrived the owner/operator informed me that she had, "sold the room and there was no room for me." Of course I expressed my anger and told her I would write a review about this incident on trip advisor. After this, she called my phone and left a harassing message saying that I was a liar and she was calling the police. She is one of the rudest and most unstable people I have ever met! I can't believe some one like this would ever be in customer service!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Shelley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    13
    11
    6
    8
See reviews for
7
21
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Booked at this motel; we were delayed coming from Tofino and not sure if we were going to make it down. We called and asked if we could cancel. We were told we could not cancel, because it was a long weekend and not enough notice and she would have to charge us. We understood and accepted this response. So we continued the drive, not wanting to lose the money. When we got there, she informed me that she had rented the room to someone else and we did not have a room. It was late on a Saturday night of a long weekend. She was very rude about it. Motel looked run down and dingy on a busy street. We were left without a place to stay. I have travelled extensively and have never felt moved to write a review until now. Very unethical business practise.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTraveller667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nanaimo hotels

BC, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Great place for our overnight stop after wet and windy ball games!
Cozy, clean rooms. Felt safe with additional locked door at the end of the upper hallway.
Had a room which backed onto quieter side.
Nothing fancy but owners very friendly and it was just the ticket!
If you are a light sleeper you can hear low talking from room next door...
Hair dryer, shampoo and shower gel but no conditioner.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BCLadyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Very reasonably priced room, which was clean and had everything you need. Our room was on the back away from the traffic, so we weren't disturbed by it. The lady on reception was very helpful, giving us information we needed to know to operate the TV and heating.
The only problem was the thermostat was right above the baseboard heater, so cut out before the rest of the room was warm. Had to crank it right up until we were warm enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back of the motel, away from the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pecal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed for one night after a long day-hike. Room is simple but clean and the bed was comfortable. Air-con worked fine. Too bad we didn't arrive an hour or two sooner as we would have been able to sit out back and enjoy the semi-private deck and pleasant garden area. Close to a busy road but it didn't disturb my sleep. Recommended.

Room Tip: Ground floor (obviously) if you want the deck and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

This is a great little motel for the price. The rooms are small, but clean. The reception is friendly.
There are very few amenities, but it all works. Do not be too concerned about the smell in the halls, it is only there, everywhere else is fine.
Good parking, easy access. a bit of road noise, but not bad.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DT1254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The room we were given was ok, not very big but quite clean. The big problem was the noise because the room was on the main road even if at the moment of the reservation I had asked for a quiet one. The hotel staff was very kind.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elle1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
1.2 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 19 in Nanaimo
316 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
0.4 mi away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#4 of 19 in Nanaimo
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Motel

Property: Colonial Motel
Address: 950 Terminal Ave N, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9S 4K4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly, comfortable and affordable motel is located in a walking distance from Terminal Park Shopping Plaza and the Sea walk trail; and only few minutes' drive from Downtown Nanaimo and the Nanaimo Golf Club. We have been fully upgraded in 2005. High quality Sealy Posturpedic king and queen sized beds in all rooms. Acrylic one piece Tub/Shower Surrounds. All rooms come with fridges, microwaves, hairdryer and kettles. Non-smoking property. Cable TV with full cable. Wireless telephones with voicemail. Free high-speed wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Colonial Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Motel Nanaimo
Colonial Hotel Nanaimo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing