We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay - good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stay - good service”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

July 14 & 15 2012. Nice room, the summer patio was very private and a delight. Humming Birds were entertaining. Service was wonderful. Clean hotel. Gets full marks. Short walk to the lake nearby. Good location for purpose of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    32
    25
    20
    31
See reviews for
36
36
5
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
nanaimo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Just plain bad service nice hotel but not a clue how to run it

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fessiambre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardena, California
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Great hotel with great guest services. The rooms are nice with modern furniture, the restaurant and lounge is lovely and the garden patio is beautiful. A good value for the price and a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I'm actually staying here right now on a business trip and only choose this place because of proximity to the visiting office. I knew I was in trouble when I called last week to book my one night stay and the person answering the phone was not trained to book my room! I'm never called a hotel reservation line before to be told the the reservations clerk is the only person who could book the room! I asked if it would be easier for me to book online and was told, that "No, it would not be easier than doing on the phone but unfortunately the reservations person would need to call me back". I did get a call back and I booked the room and I inquired about WIFI and was told that would be an extra $6 per night. Who charges for WIFI anymore??? The hotel is dated and depressing. I think my room has newer furniture but they are going for an inexpensive new furniture look. My box spring has no skirt or covers, just exposed box spring. No exactly classy. This is a Monday night and I was told that the restaurant does not operate on Monday nights! Thank goodness there is a MacDonalds across the street. Everything just feels a bit sad and dreary here - something out of a made for TV movie.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Peanut-Chopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nanaimo hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Overall, the hotel is quite modern. The restaurant food was hot and pleasent to the palate .. service was a little on the slow side but being such a fancy hotel I wouldn't expect speedy service.

My only disappointment was the temperature of the pool. The brochure in the lobby stated heated pool and there is signage around the pool stating that the pool temperature is keep to a pleasant temperature of 26 degrees Celsius / 81 degrees Fahrenheit but I didn't find this the case. I even went to the front desk to complain only to be told maintenance would take a look at it. I dropped by the pool in the morning to only find the temperature was still ice cold.

Probably the only time the pool is at the proper temperature is when the queen visits. So sad for the rest us.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KnR80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

Rooms are in need of repair and upkeep. Service was lacking.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mellissawood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriola Island, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

First impressions are everything and the first thing i noticed was the 10 year old tv that you see at garage sale for a few bucks. Cheep outdated furniture and a broken but still usable plastic coffee maker. Really loud pipes when you have shower that eventually grate on me so much i can't take it. Two towels for two people so had to re-use a wet towel. Not abig deal at home but at 140 a night it is. Despite the just average overpriced room my wife and I had a fun eveningand decided to order room service. We ordered a couple of appys and although it was crazy over priced ..34dollars. We enjoyed the food...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redurchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.3 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
5.2 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
6.2 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 19 in Nanaimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
4.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Nanaimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Nanaimo

Property: The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
Address: 4898 Rutherford Rd, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T 4Z4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel Nanaimo 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Grand Hotel Nanaimo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nanaimo
Nanaimo Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing