We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous property and a "Grand" experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Hotel Nanaimo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous property and a "Grand" experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at this special boutique style hotel, hidden away in North Nanaimo. Aside from the warm greeting and excellent customer service from the moment we entered the lobby, the hotel is special in many other ways ... fabulous lounge featuring a scotch whisky bar unmatched anywhere on Vancouver Island, an indoor pool and a wonderful gift shop with some very special, unique goods. We enjoyed afternoon tea in their dining room and had a wonderful dinner experience too - compliments to the Chef! Our room was clean and fresh and very comfortable. Best kept secret in Nanaimo! Cheers to the team at the Grand and thank you for making our stay so special. We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    30
    24
    19
    29
See reviews for
34
33
5
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

I would like to spotlight The Grand Hotel in Nanaimo on Vancouver Island. This hotel is unique in many ways with its special teas, planned events, etc. Something relatively new is its gift shop called "The Pink Lollipop".

I visited this gift shop a few weeks ago. It had a truly wonderful & magical air featuring both local & global jewelery in addition to other giftware - some very unusual - all well made & extremely well presented.

Kudos to the owners/managers of The Grand Hotel for their continued efforts to provide hotel guests & visitors with such diverse options in addition to great cuisine, service and accommodation!

Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Our family decided to stay at this lovely Boutique Hotel while visiting friends in the area. We felt very welcome the minute we walked in. The Front desk staff was helpful and friendly. All our wishes were fullfilled at our arrival at the Grand. The rooms are spectacular, very big, clean and comfortable with gas firleplace and jetted tub. After a nice refreshing dip in the pool my husband wanted to try the Whisky bar with over 120 different kinds of whiskies! Even I as a non Whisky drinker could not resist to pass a "Flight". (The exeptionally well knowledged waitress, put toghether 3 different kinds with 1/2 oz each). We learend a lot about Whiskies that evening. We did decide to invite our friends that night for Dinner at the Grand Cru Restaurant and let me tell you, "what a Chef"! From the delicious crab cakes to the Halibut or Seafood linguini, everything was lovely & very tasty. A BIG thank you to your staff! We will definitely return to The Grand Hotel and recommend staying here for business or just for fun!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunwaterfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

I was travelling through Nanaimo recently while visiting family after a business trip, and had the opportunity to try out The Grand Hotel. I've driven past it before, but never had enough time to stay overnight. On this trip, I had my travel companion (my pup!) with me, and was SO happy to see that The Grand allows pets. We stayed in a truly spacious room on the main level, with a view of their garden in the back. My pup was provided with treats in the room when we arrived and I enjoyed a relaxing nightcap in their beautiful lounge. In the morning, after a short stroll through the garden and surrounding area (Nanaimo is so cute!), I had a wonderful breakfast and checked out. I'd definitely stay at The Grand on my next visit, and recommend it to anyone looking for a truly exquisite hotel. (Thanks to the hotel for the beautiful earrings I bought in your Pink Lollipop gift shop. My friends are jealous!)

Room Tip: I stayed on the back side of the hotel, and loved it since I faced the garden and didn't have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny2891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

We were excited to check out this hotel because we thought we were in "for a treat".
Thinking it would be a nice fancy place, but it wasn't. The room was very dated, we tried to log into our laptop and iPad with no luck, so I called downstairs only to be told that you could only sign in with one per room, after telling her that that was the most ridiculous I had ever heard, she merely said "log off then the other can log on, or pay 6". It was a disappointment to say the least, nothing "grand" about this hotel. We will not be returning, or recommending to anyone. There are plenty of other cheaper options with other hotels that offer everything we want.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadaDreamcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nanaimo hotels

Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Came to try out a few whiskies at their whisky bar with my wife and we were so relaxed that we decided to make a night of it. The staff were really nice and it was during the holidays and we were not really rushed to be in the shopping frenzy. We had a quiet comfortable room with a gas fireplace, ordered some light appies. They gave us the late check out and had their tea service. We felt like we were a bit indulgent, but why not!?

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eisus I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
152 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

I recomend this hotel to anyone traveling through Nanaimo on business, I is situated next to the mall, close to a movie theater, very safe, very freindly, I was alone on business and didnt feel uncomfortable as a woman traveling alone, everyone was very nice.
Good restaurant over the road Montannas, best Chipolte Burger i have ever had in my life,
bus service opposite hotel if you want to give driving a rest, takes you all over the city, down to the harbour.

Room Tip: The Hotel is located next to a shopping mall, so it is really nice if you can be at the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shipmates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
5.2 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
6.3 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#7 of 19 in Nanaimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN  Dorchester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Nanaimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Nanaimo

Property: The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
Address: 4898 Rutherford Rd, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T 4Z4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel Nanaimo 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Grand Hotel Nanaimo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nanaimo
Nanaimo Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing