We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice boutique hotel with personal service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
Surrey, BC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very nice boutique hotel with personal service.”
Reviewed 8 November 2010

The Grand is a smaller boutique hotel with staff geared to its clientele. We found our stay very relaxing and the staff, especially Jeffrey the hotel manager more than accomodating. Their prime rib on Saturday night was excellent as was their selection of fine wines. They have just started a wine club so you should look into this if interested. The underground parking, indoor pool, exercise room and fine inhouse dining made this a great choice to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iceman43c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    32
    27
    20
    33
See reviews for
36
38
6
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Stayed in this hotel on business for 10 days, Room was serviced sporadically, garbage not taken out for 5 days. Had no coffee in my room for days and when I went to get a coffee from the lobby the receptionist told me that there was a restaurant around the corner. After traveling out of town for more than 30 years I have never encountered anything as bad as this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Allan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nanaimo hotels

DC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

A Deluxe Room, which we were forced into since they had no standard rooms, is not what I would classify as "Deluxe." The "Jacuzzi Tub" had just a few small jets --- and not even at your back. The Fireplace didn't even work, we had to have three different hotel staff come into the room to get it working. They were very friendly, but it's not exactly the experience we were hoping for, given the money we shelled out.

No wireless internet. No free computer access. No jacuzzi by the pool --- if you need these things go somewhere else in Nanaimo.

The breakfast was good, but not free, in the restaurant downstairs.

If they don't have a standard room DON'T pay for an upgrade. Go find a B&B and actually enjoy your night. Also, don't be fooled by how they describe the views. A "Garden" view is really looking at a construction project going on behind the hotel, and a "Mountain" view looks at the shopping plaza across the street.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank psu_h2o_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Unbelievable rack of lamb (and i have french experience); hats off to Ian , the gusto of the kitchen!!
Outstanding management, first class, worthy of small luxury hotel of the world (i lived in hotels for 4 yrs so i know what am talking about)

Most comfy bed i a ,for once, spacious room ..... finally a hotel that understands thats its not all about the view or the room service but also the bathroom: good lighting and ample counter space! what a change from europe!!
loved the garden oasis, inspires peace and well being

caroline the nomad

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolineah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vouvry
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

This hotel is easy to find as it is near the high way! And also near some shopping centers. The welcome was very friendly and we had good service. The room was big and quiet, very clean and with internet, TV, fridge, telephone, as we needed it. The restaurant is small, but nicely decorated. The food was excellent and quickly served. They even have a nice indoor swimmingpool for relaxation. The best thing was the garden terrace to have a nice and cool luncheon ! We can realy recommend it .

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jac-hoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tofino, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

We stayed one night at this hotel it was not good. The room was dirty there was metal top from a champagne bottle under the bathroom sink (we did not drink any champagne) there was black finger prints on the wall in bathroom that I thought might have been just a stain so I tried to wipe it off and it came off quite easily, there was hair in the bathtub and it took forever to get hot water to our room on the fourth floor. When I told the front desk that the room was not clean they did nothing but say they would inform housekeeping. Their fitness room has equipment that is in need of repair or replacing.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anmar2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremerton, WA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

We stayed here for 1 night while traveling on vacation and paid $125 per night. The hotel is clean and friendly, but don't believe the pictures, it is not as big or fancy as the photos depict. The restaurant was closed, so we can't comment on that. The room was large, but the view was of the dumpster area. There is no microwave or fridge in the rooms, basically, just a bare bones room. The pool was refreshing, but the plaster is peeling on the walls. Basically, for the money, I would shop around next time.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank world-is-my-osyter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
5.2 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,420 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
327 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
298 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
6.3 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 18 in Nanaimo
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Nanaimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Nanaimo

Property: The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
Address: 4898 Rutherford Rd, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T 4Z4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel Nanaimo 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Grand Hotel Nanaimo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nanaimo
Nanaimo Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing