We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, Pub style environment” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montana's BBQ & Bar

Montana's BBQ & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Montana's BBQ & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #75 of 320 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Montana’s is all things BBQ to all people. Whether you’re in the mood for southern style in-house smoked ribs and pulled pork or looking for some Canadian BBQ flavour across our burgers, steaks and sandwiches; Montana’s has the perfect atmosphere to bring the family or meet up with friends. Fire up the good times at Montana’s BBQ & Bar!
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, Pub style environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Tried different items off the menu from Chicken Wings to Steak. No complaints with anything.
Service was friendly and attentive.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    46
    14
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
B.c.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“turkey club”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Last week my friend and myself had lunch at Montana's cookhouse. We both ordered the turkey club sandwich with a Caesar salad. It was delicious and so big we both took half the sandwich home in a doggy bag. It was reasonable priced and super good and the restaurant has a nice atmosphere. Very enjoyable!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bob123cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sooke, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and even better service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Part of our daughter's ball team stopped by after a full day at the field. We didn't have a reservation and the restaurant was packed but they were able to seatus on the outdoor patio. We were the only table outside and were a party of 14...usually a recipe for a bad experience. Our server was very attentive and we even commented at one point that she was so great that it felt like we were her only table. We had a number of "special request" meals that were accommodated flawlessly. The food was fantastic and served surprisingly quickly given how busy they were. We were definitely impressed and will absolutely be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M0mmaBear75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo BC, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fun restaurant to take the family.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We enjoy going to this restaurant with the family or on date night. Our favourite is the wings. It is also a super fun place to go for a birthday.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

I had the greatest time at Montana's Cookhouse. Food was great and very filling. Service was great. Our server kept checking on us just to make sure that we were okay. The smores dessert was favorite. Highly recommend eating here when you come to Nanaimo.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank antoniod506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Montana's BBQ & Bar also viewed

 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Montana's BBQ & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing