We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ok” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bollywood North - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bollywood North
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just ok”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Went to this restaurant twice earlier this year in 2013. The first time, not impressed by the decor and attendance, so I gave a second chance, the second try was the same.
Also I can't understand why an Indian restaurant doesn't have Nan bread to offer to the customers. Nan breads are a very important part of the Indian cuisine in my humble opinion.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurent F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    0
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sooo good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

I can't believe that the dining room is not packed every night. The food is very authentic, the service is great and it has a nice ambience. Can't wait to go again for Mother's Day!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank barbanddave5958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

We were very excited when we learned their was a new indian restaurant in Nanaimo. Sadly it does not seem to know if it is an indian restaurant, north american restaurant or other. They have the word 'gravy' in the description for a curry!! The food was OK, but not great. Certainly not a traditional indian restaurant. On the plus it was very clean and the service was wonderful.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank V-I-Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Tasty Indian Cuisine "Vegetarian choices at last"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

I Moved over to Nanaimo with my family a year ago and we are all Vegetarian. Having moved from a big city we were spoiled for choice. Nanaimo however apart from a limited couple of restaurants offering vegetarian options Nanaimo does not offer a real alternative for dining vegetarians. Also having come from the UK and spoiled with good quality Indian restaurants I'm always look out for a good Indian restaurant. I came across an add in he paper offering discount for a buffet all you can eat lunch at the Bollywood in North Nanaimo? I figured they would probably have a vegetarian selection being an Indiana restaurant so it seemed worth a check out.

Well when I went with the family I was pleasantly surprised! We went for lunch and they have a special for 12.95 all you can eat! Apart from the basic decor which t was focused on the food. It was presented nicely and offered a variety of no less then 6 vegetarian buffet options on the day. There were also meat options buttered chicken a curried beef dish, pork dish even a couple of pasta dishes There was about 16 choices in all for meat and veg lovers. The best part, my wife is not to keen on Indian food so they had a vegi bolognes and some other dishes such as rosemary garlic potatoes for sides There was also a salad bar offering a variety of fresh garden and fruit options.

The food was nicely presented, hot and the veg fresh and crunchy. It's refreshing to know I have an alternative at the North end of Town. So if your stuck for something different and want some Indian flavor but also North American dishes for the whole family check it out!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank one m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bollywood North also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing