We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would never stay there again.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanaimo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Westwood Lake RV, Camping & Cabins
Port Alberni, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I would never stay there again.”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

There was confusion over booking the cottage, stressing my elderly parents out, as the owner "lost" the booking, then "found" it again. Very unorganized. Separated our party when we specifically booked spots together. Then placed us in a marshy bog that smelled like sewer. Long wet grass rather than nicely groomed and comfortable to walk over, plus muddy. Children told to "be quiet" while playing in the unkempt playground consisting of a rusty swing, rusted monkey bars, and logs. Not family friendly at all. And the male owner has an explosive temper on a short fuse, very rude and uncooperative. The shower facility very poor. The location not well marked and not that easy to find. I have stayed in many campsites all over Vancouver Island and this one is the worst one. I would never recommend it to anyone.
Marpointe

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank doglady d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    12
    1
    3
    5
See reviews for
12
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Prince George
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed in a cabin and i have to say that while it was ok and clean enough, it was dark and when i turned on a light, the chain broke and no one bothered to fix it even though i left the chain in what i thought was an obvious place. Dont expect a cabin on a lake - this is a row of cabins in a parking lot. The campsites were not maintained - the grass was really long and wet with dew in the morning. The playground is poorly maintained. The owners were unexceptably rude to the older disabled people my family. While it is true that the younger kids did party too hard and created a disturbance, the owners chose to take their anger and frustrations out on the elders in the family who didnt know what had happened. These are not customer service oriented people. Overall there are many many better places to stay on Vancouver Island.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank salmonpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nanaimo hotels

Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This was such a great place to stay. Staff were friendly and helpful and was always checking to see if we needed anything . The cabin was wonderful and clean and suited our needs for a family of 5!! The private yard was huge and made a great place for a family get together! The lake provided lots of hours of swimming! It was quiet at nights. I can't say enough good

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drumheller, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Westwood Lake Campgrounds advertises themselves as a RV Resort. This is far from reality. Just because there are full hookups doesn't make this a resort. Some sites are not designated properly and are not cleaned between guests. The bathrooms were not cleaned very often and the showers were pathetic and gross. The playground is old, rusty and had several pieces that could scratch or cut small children.

The staff were ignorant and disrespectful. They spoke to each other very badly about other guests. The price was only for two adults and charged us extra for each of the kids. The only positive thing is that it is a close walk to the lake and beaches. Would never stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
2.8 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 19 in Nanaimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
7.6 mi away
Mountainaire Campground and RV Park
2.6 mi away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#3 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood Lake RV, Camping & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood Lake RV, Camping & Cabins

Property: Westwood Lake RV, Camping & Cabins
Address: 380 Westwood Rd, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 0G8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Nanaimo
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet privately owned campground nestled in a nature setting by Westwood Lake. Fully serviced RV sites, tenting as well as cabins and a family sized cottage are available in addition to on-site RV rentals. Fun for the whole family with boat rentals and a concession on site. The campground features The Gathering Place, a common room exclusively for its guests with a pool table, foosball table, darts, basketball court, table tennis and much more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing