We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It was AWESOME - You'll have to experience it for...”
Stunning custom designed home & private gardens on the ocean in Departure Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning custom designed home & private gardens on the ocean in Departure Bay
Oceanfront with views on both levels
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Stunning custom designed home & private gardens on the ocean in Departure Bay
Oceanfront with views on both levels
Front door to main house and access to the ocean front patio
Enjoy your morning coffee from the upper deck with a gorgeous view
Your sunrise as the house faces east
Your beach directly in front of the house
Your view from the kitchen into living room, dining room and the ocean
The convivial gourmet kitchen and bar seating for 4 people
The open kitchen has views of the ocean. The dining room has seating for 8 to 10 people.
A large gas fireplace warms the living room. Gorgeous views from every angle.
This is Octavia the octopus, our house mascot. This picture was taken by our guest Michelle.
The dining area can easily seat between 8-10 people
The main floor master bedroom has a king bed, large walk-in closet, huge private ensuite bathroom
The main floor master has views of the ocean while lying in bed
Main floor master ensuite bathroom with soaker tub and shower
Upper level family room & office - amazing views!
Upper level family room with a big gas fireplace and ocean views
Upper level master bedroom with queen and access to private deck
Upper level master bedroom with queen bed and private ensuite bathroom
Upper level master bedroom privatge ensuite bathroom with large walk-in shower
Upper level bedroom with two double beds and gorgeous ocean views
Upper level bedroom with two double beds, its own TV and lots of closet space
Upper level main bathroom - share by two bedrooms
Upper bedroom with queen bed and access to a private deck
Your protected private back deck for sunny afternoons
Large capacity Magtag washer & dryer
The house faces east so the sun rise is spectacular
Winter on the ocean is just a beautiful as the summer
A walk along Departure Bay in the winter - this was taken in February 2014
One of our resident otters after a successful fishing trip
Another gorgeous sun rise on Departure Bay
An incoming BC Ferry and a larger cargo tanker awaiting a mooring spot in Vancouver
There is great fishing to be had in the area. We can direct you to a good local fishing guides
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Janeen S
Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It was AWESOME - You'll have to experience it for yourself!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We loved the beautiful view & the lovely garden had a calming effect on us. Granny & Grandpa were up early every morning sitting outside with their granddaughter sipping coffee - the sun was just starting to peek through the clouds with all the different shade of colours. The house beautifully set out - enough space for every person. The kitchen is so well equipped - you had everything a chef needed! Bonus was that Su had made sure we had something for our tea when we arrived…thanks so much. Bedrooms had comfy beds, towels & bedding was of best quality - not forgetting the newest member of the family - baby's cot was already set up in bedroom downstairs - all bathrooms had body wash & shampoo - sometimes one forgets to pack those little items. Even the laundry room had laundry soap - what more can we ask for. Thank you for this well-equipped cottage - it was really appreciated. We are planning for another family trip next year - so this will be the first cottage we will be looking at depending on our numbers. Also, thank you Su for mailing back granny’s sandals which she had left behind. We had a wonderful holiday and are really grateful to Su for everything!!! THANK YOU!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KP-Calgar...
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great house with a SPECTACULAR view!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This was a great house and the view was breath taking! The layout of the house is just great, plenty of room for everyone. The house is equipped with everything, fully stocked kitchen, throw blankets in the sitting room, and umbrella and shopping bags in the front hall. The manager of the property Su, was always available to answer questions, make recommendations if asked and she has set up her own directory at the house with directions for shopping and restaurants. She made the rental as easy and welcoming as it could get. We are already looking to book her other property on the same street, as that house is pet friendly and we really missed having our dog with us. This is a beautiful property and you won't be disappointed about anything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view was the best!
Liked least: Expensive but worth it!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2014
Dear Kim & family,

Thank you so very much for your wonderful feedback on the house and amenities. We would most certainly love to have you back, and yes, this time please do bring the tiniest member of the family, and enjoy our dog-friendly house next door. www.bcbeachhouse.ca

Hope to see soon. Cheers, Su G.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rita F
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most memorable March Break ever!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our trip to B.C. was a last minute alternative to the mass exodus of Ontarians going south for the March Break. And boy, are we glad we decided to head west instead. Our beautiful home-for-the-week far exceeded our expectations. The location on Departure Bay was perfect not only because of the absolutely spectacular view but it also has easy access to everything: supermarkets, great butcher and fish monger, great restaurants, close to the ferries, an easy drive to the Nanaimo airport and a nice walk to the harbour and old town of Nanaimo.
The home’s layout is well thought out - with spectacular views of the Bay from both the main and upper floors – and clearly designed with entertaining and socializing in mind. The fireplaces are a terrific feature. Cooking in the kitchen is a delight. With everything you could possibly need for any gourmet extravaganza, it’s better equipped than my own kitchen and Su (the property manager) has thoughtfully stocked it with some staples as well as a drawer full of spices. And then of course, there’s that view from the kitchen too!
The house is immaculate and every detail has been thoughtfully planned for maximum comfort. Great mattresses, bedding, and linens and helpfully placed instructions. The home also comes with a kayak and bikes which we didn’t get a chance to use but hope to when we return!
Su is super helpful, incredibly responsive and very knowledgeable about the area as well as other areas on the Island and mainland. She provided great recommendations for the perfect restaurants, local activities and day trips that my 10-year-old son would enjoy. We made several trips but frankly, we would have been happy – rain or shine - to spend every day at the house, walking the beach, enjoying the view.
This was a fantastic getaway – thanks for making it special Su. And I do hope we have the opportunity to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - the location, the beautiful home, the view....
Liked least: That we had to leave...
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2014
Dear Rita, I am so delighted that you chose us for your "Get Out of Toronto & Away From Winter" spring break escape. Better yet, that your adventure included whales, eagles, sea lions and many of the magical aspects of a West Coast we take for granted. Seeing BC through your eyes has given me a better appreciation for where I live, Super Natural BC. Please come back and see us again very soon. All the best, Su Grimmer
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Feb 2014
Wow! Michelle, such high praise! We are overwhelmed with your feedback about your stay and the house. We work hard to make the house a home away from home, and are delighted that you felt exactly that while in residence. Thank you so much for your kind words. And I love the pictures that you posted. Further evidence of the wild life on the beach. Hope to see you soon. All best best, Su G.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AB
Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Calgary
Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$260
/
Night
Week
Month
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing