We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable room with a great view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hammond Bay Oceanside Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 33 Nanaimo B&B and Inns
Seattle
1 review
“Comfortable room with a great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

We spent two nights in the Bayside Room, which is the smaller of the two accomodations. We arrived after dark and were awed the next morning when we looked out the window at the beautiful view of Shack Island and the Strait of Georgia behind it. What a way to start a weekend! We enjoyed walking the beach at low tide, watching sea lions swim through the bay and eagles fly above.
The hosts were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good. The propery is clean and well maintained. The "smaller" room was plenty big for two of us, with an especially large bathroom. The room was nicely decorated with many homey touches, a comfortable bed, and conveniences such as (wired) Internet, a refrigerator and microwave.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
552 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed here during Christmas and it was super fantastic to say the least. My wife's first time in a B&B and she did not know what to expect.. and I must say they set the bar pretty high for our next B&B experience.
Its a wonderful place, and it was lucky for us that we received an upgrade to a beautiful suite within the property.. simply beautiful.. The Breakfast was terrific and served to us every morning piping hot.. and the young lady (Karen) who runs the place was very accommodating in giving us ideas and recommendation for things to do and places to dine..
the only bad thing i could say it that we had to leave to soon.

definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B787skipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Thank you for making our 2-night stay a treasure to be remembered.

Seeing the Alaska-bound cruise ships, with Shanty Island as foreground, was incredible, as were the blackberries at the beach below the house.

Room Tip: The apartment-style efficiency was very much appreciated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canuckie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Just a beautiful Bed & Breakfast in Nanaimo with a great view on the sea and direct access to the stoney beach. The rooms are nicley decorated with good sence for detail. We enjoyed our three day stay very much, gasping at the beauty of the sea while having a rich breakfast..

The B&B is located only 10 Minutes away by car from the town center.

Definetely one of the best B&B we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estes Park, CO
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

No detail was forgotten in the owners' attempt to provide beauty, comfort, rest, and convenience for guests. The ocean views from our rooms were incredible. Hiking, beach-combing, and blackberry-picking accessible from the backyard. Lulled to sleep by sound of ocean caressing the shore. We'd planned to leave early each day to sight-see, but upon arrival, found the place so relaxing that we lingered to enjoy just being in the beautiful location with inspiring views. Sat with coffee outside in comfy robe/slippers our hosts provided to take in ocean & sunrise each morning . Bald eagles seen just off private patio in back of each room. Very quiet and private. HIGHLY recommend stay here - loads better than any hotel. Down the back steps, short walk to Piper's lagoon park where you can stroll on short, flat beach walks or rough it on hiking trails to rocky outcrops with ocean views. Short drive from Departure Bay ferry terminal, stores, downtown Nanaimo. Good central location from which to explore north/south Vanc. Isle.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank playinghard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2009

We are considering moving to Nanaimo and were here for 3 days to look at houses. The experience here, waking up to the spectacular ocean/mountain views was definitely a compelling argument for the move.

We stayed in the Bayside room which had a fantastic brick gas fireplace and a very, very comfortable queen-size bed. The room came with a complementary bottle of home-made wine, fridge, microwave, TV, DVD/VCR and some chocolate mints. The bathroom was very roomy and had double sinks but unfortunately no bathtub. There were also strategically placed candles with a fireplace-style lighter left beside them for convenience. Very cozy!

Just outside the room was an area with plenty of comfortable seating to take in the view and a couple of tables with more candles and another lighter. We sat outside one night even though the weather was quite cool (there was a blanket there as well), lit candles, sipped wine and watched the moon rise over the bay. Beautiful!

The delicious breakfasts cooked by Brenda were served in the dining room upstairs, also overlooking the water. We only saw Karen once when we first arrived but Bill was there every morning to tell us about the area and make sure we were being looked after.

The only reason I didn't give Hammond Bay Oceanside 100% was because there was no bathtub and no wireless internet. There was internet, but you need to plug an ethernet cable into the outlet and I had to ask for the ethernet cable. So I have to dock 0.5% and can only give them 99.5%. Definitely one of the top B&B experiences we've had.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

We stayed at this great spot for one night on our way up the island. This was my wife's and daughter's first experience at a B&B and it could not have been a better one. Located in a beautiful spot just north of Nanaimo, the hosts provide an excellent experience. The suite was spacious, clean, comfortable, and has a spectacular view. Breakfast was delicious.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papa_gecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
3.3 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
4.2 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
2.8 mi away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#4 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Maple View Bed & Breakfast
2.9 mi away
Long Lake Waterfront B&B
3.5 mi away
Bev & Sandy's Place B&B
Bev & Sandy's Place B&B
#8 of 33 in Nanaimo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hammond Bay Oceanside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hammond Bay Oceanside Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hammond Bay Oceanside Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3804 Hammond Bay Rd, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T 1G3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet and peaceful retreat in beautiful Nanaimo, BC. Our private beach is great for swimming and sunbathing. Hammond Bay is ideal for kayaking/canoeing. Piper's Lagoon Park and Neck Point Park are just a short stroll along the seashore. Choose from our two oceanside rooms, both with private entrances, bathrooms and kitchen facilities. Relax on your private patio, enjoy spectacular sunrises with your morning coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hammond Bay Oceanside Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing