We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect home abroad!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanaimo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flying Cloud Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 34 Nanaimo B&B and Inns
Arnsberg
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect home abroad!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The first impression is the bright smile oft your hosts and their warm hospitality, the second the stunning view over the harbour of Nainamo. When you arrive during the afternoon both will be combined in a wine- and-cheese- welcome-snack on the terrace.The house is beautiful, the rooms are nobly furnitured and everything is more than perfect. The pool billiard table, the bar and the view make this house the best place to stay in Nainamo.
There is a whirlpool on the terrace and a redlight sauna for the guests.
But there ist even more: Try the breaktfast and be speechless! Talk to the hosts and be charmed, because you will be wellcomed as friends.

Room Tip: The chandelier room ist the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doctorella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlyingCloud_13, Owner at Flying Cloud Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
We are delighted your stay was so enjoyable at the Flying Cloud Bed and Breakfast. We value our guest's reviews of our B&B - we endeavor to create a lasting good memory of the Flying Cloud and Nanaimo. Thank you very much!

Vivian and Neil Reinhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We were so sad we could only stay one night with Vivian and Neil and their two little kitty cats. The bedroom was huge, so was the bathroom. We felt very welcome from the start till we unfortunately had to hit the road again. Our breakfast, set on the terrasse with stunning view and humming birds all around us was so incredible delicious. Viv and Neil are such a sweet couple and we wish them all the best for the future. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex68Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlyingCloud_13, Owner at Flying Cloud Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind words! Neil and I really enjoyed meeting you both and are pleased we added a nice touch to your Canadian vacation! We hope you had a wonderful adventure bear watching from Alert Bay! We were thinking of you!

Cheers,
Vivian Reinhart
Flying Cloud Bed and Breakfast
www.flyingcloudbedandbreakfast.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainville, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I cannot say enough about my experience at the Flying Cloud. Viv, (with a Master's in Home Economics) is the best Hostess ever!..I almost felt as if I didn't deserve all of the doting she did over me and my Mom! The breakfast is served complete with doilies, homemade muffins, fresh fruit, homemade gourmet egg creations, and music to match what ever breakfast theme she has that morning. She takes such great pride in everything she does! After staying here I would never consider staying anywhere else in Nanaimo when I return there. Her home is spotless and so tastefully decorated, the views of the harbor from the house are breathtaking, and the company is divine! I so enjoyed chatting with Neil about his beloved hummingbirds that visit the feeders. Neil is intelligent, kind, and considerate. This couple gets 5 stars from me..if i could give them 10 I would! Looking forward to keeping in touch with this couple for the rest of my life. Jen Carter 6-24-13 through 6-28-13

Room Tip: Don't hesitate..book a room NOW!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlyingCloud_13, Owner at Flying Cloud Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for your words of praise! We enjoyed your company very much and do hope to see you again the next time you travel this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Vivian is an absolute delight! From the moment we walked into their beautiful home she was gracious warm and welcoming. It was like going to visit a distinct relative you've never met. We were the only guest for the night, so she took us on a tour and let us have a choice of room.
We then had a lovely wine and cheese on the deck, and was given information on the area. The breakfast the next day was 5 star! I should have got the recipe for those oatmeal muffins (which I might add Vivian packed for us with homemade jam for the ferry) Great palce to say!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mchayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed for four nights, the welcome and the care that Viv and Neil showed us was exceptional as were the breakfasts and the views. The facilities are superb and this coupled with the guidance provided by our hosts on things to do and places to eat made our stay something that will remain in our memories for years to come.

Highly recommended to all.

Room Tip: Any of them they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flly_on_the_wall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012 via mobile

Carlsberg don't do B&Bs, but if they did - (this is only relevant if you know UK beer advertising!). For those with a more literal bent, George Orwell described the perfect pub in his essay, 'The Moon Under Water'. The Flying Cloud ticks all the boxes I could possibly think of. Perfect location? Tick. Absolutely welcoming hosts? Tick. Great beds? top notch breakfast? Hot tub? Pool table? Fridge for your use? All tick. Just perfect!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larrybacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We loved our stay - 2 nights on our roundtrip - at this B&B, the hosts are so friendly and helpful. There is nothing more to say!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simberia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
3.4 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,385 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
3.0 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 19 in Nanaimo
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
296 reviews
1.6 mi away
Maple View Bed & Breakfast
2.0 mi away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#4 of 19 in Nanaimo
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Cloud Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Cloud Bed and Breakfast

Property: Flying Cloud Bed and Breakfast
Address: 581 Cumberland Pl, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T 4S5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely home with panoramic views of the harbour, downtown, Newcastle island and Gabriola island. 8 minutes from the Vancouver to Nanaimo ferry and yet once arrived, one feels miles from the hustle and bustle. Sunny south facing rooms, large guest lounge with billiard table, hostess counter, TV, library. Top quality beds, beautiful linens for a luxury sleep. Breakfasts a culinary delight! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing