We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation of our lives”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanaimo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
MGM Seashore Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 34 Nanaimo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best vacation of our lives”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Glenn and Marilyn's B&B is an absolute must to put on your bucket list. This home is stunning - we stayed in the honeymoon suite with a magnificent view of the ocean, wildlife, Alaskan cruise ships in the distance, mountains, and stunning sunsets. My last night there I was just staring out of the window, trying to soak up the view, and a bald eagle landed in the evergreen tree right in front of me. He stayed there for about 1/2 hour - quite incredible. We also did zip lining - 6 zip lines in the rain - what a rush! Last, but not least, Glenn and Marilyn are the perfect hosts and the breakfasts they put in front of us were worthy of kings and queens. You will feel like royalty when you stay here. We cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: You should definitely try to get the honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
111
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We were so happy we decided to bring our car to Nanaimo so that we could go about 15 minutes north of downtown to a Marilyn and Glen's beautiful spot on the coast. This place has it all--an immaculate, beautifully decorated house with several guest suites, jaw dropping views of the water, islands, and birds, wonderful hospitable hosts, and gourmet breakfasts. The location is great, giving access to outdoor activities as well as the downtown area and restaurants. We highly recommend this B&B and would choose it in a minute if we are ever back in Nanaimo.

Room Tip: King room, with the addition of two twin beds was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was our 4th stay at MGM Seashore B&B and it was fantastic as always!!! Glenn & Marilyn are 2 of the nicest B&B hosts we've met in all of our travels! We go out of our way now to make sure we stay at their B&B. The ocean views are incredible, the suites are meticulous and breakfast is always fabulous!! There is lots to do in the area as well such as walking, hiking, golfing, whale watching, sea lions, etc! There are Bald Eagles nesting nearby as well so they are always flying around and often perch on one of the trees in front of the B&B :)

The beds are very comfortable, bathrooms are super clean and it's very quiet! Marilyn makes fantastic Nanaimo Bars and Glenn's cappuccinos rival most coffee shops!

We wouldn't stay anywhere else on the island...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carguy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We were recommended this lovely B & B by a friend and are so glad that we stayed here.
The rooms and the view are only surpassed by the warmth of the welcome from the hosts.
The room was fantastic, having every luxury and the most amazing views over the Straight of Georgia and the coastal mountains. Waking up to see eagles flying past the window and various marine life swimming past is truly astounding and memorable.
Breakfast is a gourmets delight, with Glenn's home made bread making it a real occasion.
Nanaimo is perfectly placed on Vancouver Island to explore both Victoria and the "wild west coast" without paying the premium prices that these tourist oriented places command, and the by far the best place to stay in Nanaimo is MGM B&B.

Room Tip: All rooms are spotlessly clean and all have fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The spectacular MGM B&B is absolutely a perfect place to stay, the longer the better!

It has everything needed for a holiday or getaway, including eagle trees & unforgettable views over Georgia Strait from sweeping sundecks. We loved its great location, beautiful surroundings, wonderful food & exceptional hosts. Our stay there was perfect, but way too short.

The quiet nights, restful ambience, the comfort and beauty of Glenn & Marilyn's home, their generous, welcoming manner are all elements of a brilliant B&B. It would be tough to find a better place than this! We were sad to leave.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic with sundeck access, magnificent views & total comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank munchy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I came to Nanaimo to visit my ailing father in a long-term care home and my son and i stayed here and we LOVED IT! We wanted to see the view every day when we woke up and shared the honeymoon suite... Marilyn and Glenn put a nice bed in for my son, who slept right up again the window to the wonder of the eagles/sea lions/plentiful of deer/dolphins and the odd killer whale each morning - was simply awesome to wake up to it.

House and accommodations were perfect - simply perfect. Breakfast was to die for - we definitely gained weight and we don't care. OH, those waffles!!! Glenn makes so many types of Bread I gave up asking what was next cause it did not matter - we knew it would be delicious. He knows how to make great cappuccini. Punto. Marilyn was such a delight and I cannot say one flaw about her. She makes you laugh; is very well versed her what to do around the area; where to eat etc... I was really impressed. It felt like coming home to parents each night - they were so sweet and caring but respected privacy. My son (17yrs) really enjoyed their company and played a good game of pool with Glenn and his grandson. Leaving there was sad - I wanted to stay and be adopted :-)

I hope to return to them again when I visit my father for another stay. I know I will be taken care of.

All the rooms are gorgeous - very quiet at night - hot tub was superb. The room to watchTV was huge, comfortable and cozy. The nature captivating. Cathedral Grove is a must for anyone.

Thanks again Marilyn and Glenn - huge hugs from me and Luc :-)

Room Tip: For the view, size and in-room jacuzzi tub looking at the awesome view - Honeymoon suite.... but se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wavingHi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

All the wonderful things that people have to say about this spectacular B&B are true. The home, the rooms, the views, the food, but most importantly the hosts are all truly first class. We stayed here 2 nights in October as the final 2 nights of a 10 day vacation to B.C and the Rockies and this was the ultimate way to finish off an already remarkable trip. Thank you so much Marilyn and Glen for all your warmth and hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
5.5 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,378 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 19 in Nanaimo
321 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Long Lake Waterfront B&B
1.8 mi away
Maple View Bed & Breakfast
4.0 mi away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#4 of 19 in Nanaimo
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Seashore Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Seashore Bed & Breakfast

Property: MGM Seashore Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4950 Fillinger Cres | British Columbia, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9V 1H9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular oceanfront B&B in our modern executive home in north Nanaimo on Vancouver Island. All three rooms offer ocean view, decks with hot tub, a beach deck, with garden steps between. Included is an games/entertainment/sitting area, coffee/tea/cappuccino bar, fruit bowl and the famous Nanaimo Bar dessert, gourmet breakfasts, menu changes daily and caters to any dietary needs. Enjoy our smoke and pet free environment. We promise a memorable stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing