We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely wonderful!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Old City Cottages

Bright, beautiful and cheery interior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bright, beautiful and cheery interior
Cottage from the outside Dining table seats 4
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Bright, beautiful and cheery interior
Cottage from the outside
Dining table seats 4
Cosy living area with 50' flat screen smart TV
Master bedroom with Queen bed
Two twin beds in the second bedroom
Well stocked kitchen with brand-new dishwasher and microwave
Bathroom with beautiful irridescent Mexican tile
Wheelchair accessible with ramp
Outdoors at night, view of the patio
Patio at night, a lovely area to entertain!
Front view of cottage
Herb planter for cottage guests!
Help yourself to our fresh garden fruit and greens!
Our address- with stained glass signage!
A view from Newcastle island, a local destination for a summer picnic
Rent our kayaks and head out for a paddle!
Malaspina Galleries on nearby Gabriola Island, one of our favourite day trips!
Walk the beautiful waterfront of Nanaimo!
Tofino beaches- spectacular and another great day trip destination!
Enjoy our island's beautiful sunsets!
Check us out online
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Debbie C
Moncton, Canada
1 review
“Absolutely wonderful!”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Our stay at the Old City Cottage was absolutely perfect! We couldn't have asked for more. From the moment we arrived, when we were met by Isobel with a wonderful welcome basket of goodies, we felt right at home. The cottage itself was beautiful, spotlessly clean and so comfortable. We felt like we had all the comforts of home in a quiet and beautiful garden setting. Travelling as a family it was so nice to have the two bedrooms. Isobel and Mitch were great, so warm and welcoming and helpful. The location was very convenient as well. We would definitely recommend this property and it far exceeded our expectations. Thank you again to Isobel and Mitch for your lovely hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was just so pretty!! And so well equipped with everything we needed.
Liked least: There was nothing at all that we could find fault with.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review! It was great to meet you all, and we are very pleased that you had such a good stay. Hope to see you again, and many thanks for leaving the cottage in such beautiful shape! Best wishes, Isobel and Mitch
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2015Jenny...
London, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Serenity in a home away from home!”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

No detail has been overlooked in this "cottage". From the welcoming basket of goodies to get us started to the cottage itself, the word "perfection" comes to mind. This cottage is equipped with everything you could possibly need during your stay and the decor is calming and peaceful. Comfortable beds complete the setting.
Our host, Isobel, could not have been more helpful and considerate from seeing that our every need was met to helpful suggestions on places to visit, things to do and places to eat.
The location is convenient to the harbour area and parking on-street was never a problem.
If you are looking for accommodation in the Nanaimo area, look no further. We would return again in a heartbeat!
Joan & Company

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall welcoming feel of the cottage.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2015
Thank you so much Joan for your kind review! It was great to have you all here, and I am so glad you had such a lovely time in Nanaimo and enjoyed the cottage and surroundings! You left the place in wonderful shape- thank you so much! Hope we see you again one day!

best wishes, Isobel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kilogreen...
Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“perfect home away from home”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This is the by far the best rental property I've ever stayed at. The cottage is lovely! The owners were very prepared for guests and provided above and beyond what I expected. The cottage was meticulously clean when we arrived and Isobel the owner provided us with all the essentials including fruit,milk,cereal,homemade jam and numerous other provisions to start us off. The gas grill was handy to prepare dinners. The pictures of the cottage describe the cottage perfectly and the bonus of having Launary facilities was a fabulous advantage. I would recommend this property to any of my family or friends.
Thank you Isobel and Mitch for a lovely stay!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2015
Thank you so much for your review! It was kind of you to take the time to post this, and we really appreciate the positive feedback. Thanks to you too for leaving the cottage in such great shape, and hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip, best wishes, Isobel and Mitch
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berlin093
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elke C
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;