We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Cafe and it's open on Sunday night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Modern Cafe

Modern Cafe
Ranked #35 of 320 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Price range: US$10 - US$24
Cuisines: Canadian, Soups, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Cafe and it's open on Sunday night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We arrived after 8.30pm on a Sunday night and Modern Cafe was one of the few eating places still open. We had take out but our meal was great and I'm sorry we didn't arrive earlier and eat in.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    87
    43
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

My wife and I shared a shrimp croissant and a caesar salad sitting outside this cafe, watching the world go by. Service was good and the food up to standard. Nothing special about this establishment but you won't go wrong here for a quick bite.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank theedge139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mac and cheese extraordinary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Lunch at Modern Cafe was fantastic.Mac and cheese was the best I ever had.The atmosphere is pleasant with great music in the background. A wide drink menu and service with Jocelyn was great. This is a must when in Nanaimo.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blangf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely meal with friends on a Saturday for lunch. A little under staffed but our waitress managed ok, bit of a wait for water. Great menu with lots of options. Good options for my vegetarian friend ! Food was excellent only complaint was that my specialty coffee cost over 10$ very odd but didn't complain just wouldn't order that again but would go back.

Helpful?
Thank Snoopyslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Superb Gem n Downtown Nanaimo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is a modern version of a 50's restaurant with pleasing ambience superior service , excellent food and worth a visit as a lunch spot on an up island visit or as a regular eating place. The mid level priced menu has a variety of familiar and appealing offerings. I had an excellent salmon burger with a delicious yam soup.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marleypacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Modern Cafe also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Modern Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing