We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rave Reviews”
Review of Inn at the Quay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn at the Quay
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in New Westminster
Certificate of Excellence
waterloogrrl
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rave Reviews”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

LOVED this hotel - I have no idea what the others are complaining about, but we stayed here for 4 nights and every night it was a pleasure to come "home" to. From the welcome note and bag of popcorn when we arrived, to the gorgeous room and view of the Fraser River - this hotel exceeded our expectations! We heard ONE train honk its horn the entire week we were there, but it was for a minute and we otherwise slept like babies. Couldn't even hear any noise from the Paddlewheel Pub next door which our balcony overlooked. (The Pub, by the way, has GREAT food, and the staff is super accommodating and friendly!) The Skytrain is conveniently located a block away and the station had everything we needed along the way - a Tim Horton's, a CIBC bank, a barbershop/threading salon, a grocery store, etc. Close to the highway as well! Oh, and the internet had great connection speeds, although I had to request a new password every night because the front desk people kept forgetting we were there for 4 nights, not one.

Aside from that, the only reason I didn't give this hotel five stars is because of the ridiculous parking fees. $10/night for an unmanned/unsecured covered parking spot (which essentially anyone could walk into) AND a whopping 32% parking tax!!!! That's right, you read correctly -- THIRTY-TWO PERCENT!!!!! (PST & GST + 21% lower mainland parking tax). Never have I seen such a rip-off…

Overall, though, a fabulous stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room ending in an odd number to face the river market/pub Tell the front desk in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waterloogrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy M, General Manager at Inn at the Quay, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear waterloogrrl,

Thank you for you kind comments and posting. As for the parking tax - sorry that's our BC government and the same rate thru out the province. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn at the Quay and if I may be of personal assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at kmackerricher@innatthequay.com.

Sincerely,
Kathy MacKerricher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    169
    68
    24
    18
See reviews for
73
167
25
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed for four nights… paid a pretty penny too only to find out we still had to pay 10 bucks a day for parking! They provided coffee and a coffee maker which was great.. however.. if you are like us and don't want to drink tap water.. then bring your own bottled water because you have to pay for theirs. Other hotels i've stayed at provide bottled water for coffee. If you like trains.. then this is the place for you. We had the luxury of hearing train horns all night long for four nights! we left exhausted! it was so noisy we couldn't sleep.. not just outside the hotel.. but inside as well! The tiles in the shower were disgusting! the grout was all but gone in some places and instead of regrouting they painted something over the tiles making it look gross and slum lordish… and there were some that got missed leaving exposed missing grout. After a 12 hour drive all I wanted to do was have a nice bath… didn't happen as It felt so dirty to me.. there was also hair on the shower wall which made it less appealing to me. the first two nights of our four night stay.. our neighbour was smoking pot… at all times of the day. the smell drifted under the adjoining room door and filled our room. not great for someone with bad asthma.. we opened the patio door only to be met with cigar smoke which ok.. it was outside.. I have no complaints about that… but we had to leave the hotel. when we complained at the desk the only response we got was… "some people break the rules" the room did have air conditioning.. but it was inadequate and the room was very warm… too warm for a good sleep. I will never return to this hotel!

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy M, General Manager at Inn at the Quay, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Michelle H,

I'm sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us and ask that you contact me directly at 604-523-3502.

Thank you.

Kathy MacKerricher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Lots of parking (paid though), central location, riverside... all positives. But the Queen bed somehow seemed a bit on the smaller side though, and in general the room was quite small. OK for a one-nighter I guess.

Room Tip: Even 3rd level rooms didn't have a great view of the river, move higher up if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naresh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy M, General Manager at Inn at the Quay, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Naresh A,

Thank you for choosing the Inn at the Quay for your recent travels to New Westminster. We do have rooms with king beds so perhaps you may wish to book this next time. The king bedded rooms are on the east side of the hotel and slightly larger. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kathy MacKerricher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Lots of positives. We had an incredible view on the Fraser river - it was soothing and relaxing to see logs moving up and down river. This is a great place to be when navigating the Vancouver options and sightseeing trips. We didn't know what to expect but were not disappointed. Staff were very professional!.
On the negative side - it's too bad that hotel parking was not free for guests. A railway track runs in front of hotel so in our room so we heard the honking of the train at night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy M, General Manager at Inn at the Quay, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Erma M,

Thank you for choosing the Inn at the Quay for your New Westminster stay and for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kathy MacKerricher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Great location near a sky train station to pretty easy to get anywhere from there .. Hotel staff was nice and friendly .. Lots to see and do in the area.. we had an amazing view of the river there was a bike rental place not far ... I wouldnt think twice about returning..

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy M, General Manager at Inn at the Quay, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Dave S,

thank you for your posting and kind comments - we look forward to welcoming you back in near future. Enjoy the remainder of your summer!

Kathy MacKerricher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This should have been called Hotel No,
NO Internet
NO Breakfast
NO Free Parking
NO Poool
NO Balcony (even when we were told that we would get one)
NO extra bed in the room

The good:

The hotel looks nice and it is located by the water, nice brown river view
the room is decent, not big, and the bathroom is adecuate

The Bad:

Rude Staff
Incompetent Staff
Could not accomodate ANY request.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitzgerald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy M, General Manager at Inn at the Quay, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Fitzgerald W,

I'm sorry to read that your visit with us was not a positive experience. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your comments further - my direct # is 604-523-3502. I look forward to your call.

Sincerely,

Kathy MacKerricher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Excellent view of the river, really nice market and bar next door, and a nicely done river walk in front of the hotel. The room was fine, probably exactly like a lot of hotel rooms you've seen.
This part of the town was industrial not long ago, the downside is that there is an active train yard behind the hotel that rattles all night long. Ask for a room as far as possible toward the river.

Room Tip: Probably the best place to stay in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy M, General Manager at Inn at the Quay, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Jon K,

thank you for choosing the Inn at the Quay for your recent travels to the New Westminster area. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself and the area. Enjoy the remainder of your summer and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kathy MacKerricher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Westminster
The Met Hotel
#2 of 2 in New Westminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Maywood
Element Vancouver Metrotown
Best Western Chelsea Inn
#3 of 4 in Coquitlam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Quay

Property: Inn at the Quay
Address: 900 Quayside Dr, New Westminster, British Columbia V3M 6G1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > New Westminster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in New Westminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at the Quay 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at the Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Quay Hotel New Westminster
Hotel At Westminster Quay
At Westminster Quay New

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing