We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bday dinner”

Taqueria Playa Tropical
Ranked #12 of 262 Restaurants in New Westminster
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Bday dinner”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We were a group of four (2 couples) that came in for a milestone bday dinner. To start service was slow! We must of sat there at least 10-15 min before I asked someone to take at least our drink and appy orders. Things started to improve thereafter. We had the beergaritas (wow, delicious and made us all tipsy!) and guacamole and pico de gallo salsa...and ceviche. All was good. Dinners were reasonably priced and tasty. I had the enchiladas with shrimp. Had to try something new and enjoyed it. What I was disappointed about was that they were sold out of desserts!!! Anyways we'll be back!!

Helpful?
Thank DutchLady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    54
    26
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new westminster bc
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Back in Mexico!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

I love this place! It's yummy and def the place to go to get your Mexican food fix. It's like being back in Mexico :) they recently extended their restaurant which is nice because they get line ups from time to time. The staff is friendly and always a good experience

Helpful?
Thank irishqueen-22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Finally settling in...”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I was one of the very first customers to try Taqueria Playa Tropical when they opened almost 2 years ago in New West. We continued to eat there on a regular basis and were happy when they announced the addition of space to allow for more seating and availability.

The first two times we visited after the reno were a mixed bag, some new enjoyable items on the expanded menu and a service system and timing that was lengthy and chaotic, a recent party of six took almost 2 hours, way too long for a food and drink menu where nothing should take longer than 15 minutes to prepare.

Finally, on our latest visit they almost nailed it...a party of 5 in and out in an hour with prompt service and only one glitch in the service delivery, the margaritas took almost 15 minutes to arrive, but looking around, clearly that was the drink of choice on that night. The new kitchen equipment and staff have upped their game in terms of food preparation, timing and presentation.

I really think they could use a modern POS system to help expedite the process but even without that I expect that Jose, Anna et al will have a long prosperous run in their newly expanded location.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cansatfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great food and price”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Great food and price. Felt like we were in Mexico with a Corona and the massive Burrito. My wife had the Fajitas. Both were excellent and we couldn't finish. Service was also good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jasond_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“So yummy”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Went for dinner with some friends. Food was spectacular and very affordable. They have a drink called tropicalita. ...it's a must. They are expanding, therefore less waiting at the door.

Helpful?
Thank Adriana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taqueria Playa Tropical also viewed

New Westminster, British Columbia
New Westminster, British Columbia
 
New Westminster, British Columbia
New Westminster, British Columbia
 
New Westminster, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 

Been to Taqueria Playa Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing