We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service”
Review of The Met Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Met Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Westminster
Canmore, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good service”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Good location for skytrain. Rooms clean and quiet. Reasonable prices. Area of town a little sketchy at night. Staff very friendly and helpful. Bar and Grill next door to hotel, or other nice restaurants up the block

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    81
    32
    9
    5
See reviews for
41
65
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The reasonable cost, clean and comfortable room in addition to the proximity to civic attractions including the soon to be completed civic centre represent good value for a weekend trip., By Skytrain using the station around the block from The Met, the convenience of travelling in to downtown Vancouver make this a very attractive option when visiting the lower mainland area. Initial difficulties with the television and a hair dryer were quickly resolved by a very friendly and helpful staff. Parking is off of the hotel property but across the street in a public parking facility at a $10 per day cost.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whundas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Really cute hotel, reasonable rates, super friendly staff, helpful, nice room, water view. Only complaint was water pressure in shower. Italian restaurant few doors down, EXCELLENT! Sky train access same block


Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Darlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I have stayed at The Met three times now, and would do so again without hesitation. All of the staff have been very friendly and helpful, especially the man who checked me in this last trip. The hotel is always clean, the beds are very comfortable, there are lots of towels and a hairdryer and iron in every room. They also have spring water in the hallway, which is a very nice touch.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frostproof, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Big comfy beds. Delightfully surprised at the decor. Large room. Super clean and great hot water to soak ones tired body after touring around Vancouver. The staff Chris and shauwn were accommodating. Would definitely return as the room rates are affordable and well worth leaving to head to new Westminster for. Train stops at hotel. Restaurant in hotel. Subway and pharmacy close by. This was a great choice in hotels. Spoke with our friends next day who stayed in Vancouver and they Paid mega bucks for their accommodation and were sadly disappointed.

Room Tip: If. You can get a room facing the road do so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheree W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melody E, Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words, we are always delighted to hear that we were successful
in providing our valued guests a memorable stay. We certainly hope to see you again whenever you return to beautiful city. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed here for just under a week. The hotel is relatively old, but it is clean and has been maintained. We had a pretty comfortable stay, especially for that price, and the reception staff were friendly and it has free wifi. The only drawback was hearing a bit of noise from the Skytrain, but the train doesn't operate at overnight.

We found the vicinity of the hotel a bit strange. It seems like the area is going through a transition from being a bit dodgy to becoming nicer with a couple of good food places etc.

You get a few beggars/addicts outside the Skytrain entrance, but that is soon forgotten after you visit Re-up BBQ for a pulled pork sandwich or Longtail thai food, both on the other side of the railway tracks in the market.

We took the Skytrain from the airport to the hotel, and it is doable even with a fair bit of luggage (the lifts in the stations are reasonable). You need to take the Skytrain all the way to Waterfront, then change lines to the millenium or expo lines to the Columbia station, and the Met is 2 doors down from the station.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are quieter due to Skytrain at rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happybirdies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melody E, Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you for your review on our little hotel. I must apologize for whatever we missed during your stay with us. We definitely and usually do better than adequate, we always strive to ensure that all our guests have the best possible experience when visiting the Met and it seems we may have failed you in some way. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Met Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Westminster
0.4 mi away
Inn at the Quay
Inn at the Quay
#1 of 3 in New Westminster
474 reviews
2.0 mi away
Happy Day Inn Hotel
Happy Day Inn Hotel
#8 of 10 in Burnaby
133 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Chelsea Inn
Best Western Chelsea Inn
#3 of 4 in Coquitlam
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Executive Plaza Hotel Coquitlam
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Coquitlam Inn Convention Centre
2.8 mi away
Ramada Coquitlam
Ramada Coquitlam
#4 of 4 in Coquitlam
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Met Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Met Hotel

Property: The Met Hotel
Address: 411 Columbia St, New Westminster, British Columbia V3L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > New Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Westminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Met Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Met Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Met Hotel New Westminster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing