We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unprofessional”
Review of Royal Eagle Suites

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Westminster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Eagle Suites
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The day before we were to check in, I get an email saying that due to a water pipe bursting, they have to cancel my reservation. I spent all day and night looking for a comparable alternative. The next day, I get an email saying they do have something available elsewhere in the same building. Yet, when I asked for some sort of compensation for my troubles, I am told, "I can't believe you're even asking me for a discount". How can they cancel on me last second, yet if I were to cancel, there would have been a fee. I would definitely not take the chance of making a reservation here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
5  Thank gddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We found these cozy studio suites to be economical and conveniently located in downtown New Westminister just two blocks to a skytrain station. ( convenient transport downtown or to the airport ) Chris is very knowledgeable about the area, but was somewhat inaccessible after check-in. Although soap and shampoo were supplied, we were surprised that over a ten day stay we received no housekeeping services. So you clean, empty the trash, wash your own towels and bedding. Royal Eagle Suites has multiple suites so the suite you receive may not be as shown in the photos. Kitchens are well equiped however very small for any serious culinary activities. Suites are clean and in good condition but somewhat dated. Laundry facilities are in the basement and the building is older where air quality is poor and enhanced through open windows. The building is located in an area of dense urbanization where you will experience your neighbours smoking, cooking, or music.

Room Tip: The suite you receive may not be the one shown in photos as they have multiple suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank global3adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The benefits of staying at this property are that it is conviently located and the rate. It is three blocks from the skytrain station so it is easy to get around. The other benefit is that, especially for the Greater Vancouver Regional District, it is well priced for the budget conscious traveller. The level of clealiness of the suites was not good and certainly not up to my standards. Even though I had confirmed with Chris 4 times my arrival and departure dates, including calling while I was enroute from the airport, my suite was not ready. There were dirty dishes in the sink and the bed had not been changed. I ended up doing the dishes myself, and when I went to strip the bed by removing the linens, a huge dust cloud billowed up from the matress. The headboard didn't look like it had been dusted for ages. Also my bathroom smelt like urine. I spent my first night going to the grocery store to buy cleaning supplies, and there was no tissue or toliet paper in my suite either. In addition, the suites themselves are old, poorly decorated, and cluttered. I had an out of control philodendron growing across my ceiling along an intricate web of fishing line??? It was like being on the set of Little Shop of Horrors. The apartment was full of plastic flowers and chachkies which accumulate dust, and the avocado green shag carpeting hadn't been vacuumed for sometime. These suites need to be de-cluttered, dusted and cleaned regualrly, and perhaps painted a nice clean neutral colour and replace the dirty, soiled carpets with some high wearing laminate flooring which is easy to keep clean? It was very noisey and hot and there was no air conditioning or even a room fan (which I had to go out and buy). I had to have the windows open at night, but this let in a lot of noise.I put this on par with a motel, but at least in a motel there is maid service. I would not recommend this property.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoBrampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This studio was very conveniently located close to sky train station, thus 35 min was enough to get to the city center - facilities, restaurants nearby were very good (including a cheap and good Sushi place). the studio was clean and well equipped, the manager Chris very helpful. The price was really good compared to my previous rooms in downtown. For my rental car, there was free parking available.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DAndras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Westminster
0.5 mi away
Inn at the Quay
Inn at the Quay
#1 of 3 in New Westminster
503 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Met Hotel
The Met Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Westminster
186 reviews
2.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#3 of 3 in New Westminster
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Coquitlam Inn Convention Centre
2.5 mi away
Best Western Chelsea Inn
Best Western Chelsea Inn
#3 of 4 in Coquitlam
410 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hilton Vancouver Metrotown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Eagle Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Eagle Suites

Address: 407 Agnes Street, New Westminster, British Columbia V3L 1G2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > New Westminster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in New Westminster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing