We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be confused - this place is NOT in Downtown Vancouver”
Review of Royal Eagle Suites

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Westminster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Eagle Suites
New Westminster, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't be confused - this place is NOT in Downtown Vancouver”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This owner misrepresents his property as being in Downtown Vancouver on VRBO.com (rental # 239669), VacationRentals.com (rental #60126) and HomeAway.com (rental #244799). To be clear, this is in Downtown NEW WESTMINSTER approx. 20km+ from Vancouver.

VRBO refuses to post any comments regarding this misrepresentation, as they state it does not significantly affect the experience or stay. I disagree. When I book accommodation in one city, I don't anticipate staying in another - for me at least, it still is all about "location, location, location!". Clearly VRBO, Vacation Rentals and HomeAway.com (all owned by the same company) do not act in the consumers best interest and bookings involving these sites should be made with CAUTION.

On VRBO and HomeAway the location tab and map for this property show the location as centred around the intersection of W. King Edward Avenue and Oak Street - this is 22km away in a different city. On VacationRentals.com the community listed is the highly sought after area in downtown Vancouver called Yaletown (26km away - also in a different city). To unsuspecting tourists who are not familiar with these areas, maps of downtown New Westminster could be confused for a map of Yaletown as both are near water (though one is the Fraser River and the other is a Pacific Ocean bay). Moreover, while it is accurate the "suite's" location is near a Skytrain Station, it is NOT the King Edward station as shown on the VRBO and HomeAway maps - rather, it is near the Columbia Skytrain station approx. 45 minutes away (to get to King Edward Station would involve taking 1 train and 1 bus with a transfer). Prospective travellers should anticipate spending 75 mins to get to this location from the airport (2 trains with a transfer) or opt to spend approx. $50 for a taxi (in each direction).

Viewers who read reviews on VRBO or VacationRentals.com should also be cautioned by the multitude of glowing reviews which contradict the opinions and experiences written here on TripAdvisor. These are likely written by the owner, as amazingly, almost all the reviewers made only 1 review (of the Royal Eagle Suites), and if you read enough of them the content is eventually repeated word for word.

The owner claims the site is near the ocean. I suppose this is relatively true. Anticipate spending at least 90 minutes on transit to get to a Vancouver beach on the Pacific Ocean (approx. 30 km if you have a car… keep in mind that beaches south of Vancouver - either near or just over the US border are only 20 km away / 90 minutes by transit).

Finally, I should warn future travellers that this may not be a great site for those 55+ as advertised by the owner, as walking to nearby transit, involves climbing steep hills that are challenging for individuals with mobility concerns. For those interested in history, New Westminster was BC's first capital city, selected largely for defensive purposes as the steep, south facing hills overlooking the Fraser River provided an excellent vantage point to protect against American invasions. Consequently, there are many historic sites of interest located in the city, but be forewarned that the hills of New Westminster are frequently passed off as those of San Francisco in film and TV series (ie. in the most recent "Godzilla" movie, or the series "Alcatraz").

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Tara95473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    0
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

When we arrived at the airport on the first day of our vacation and called Cris, we found they had canceled my reservation on last minute. Chris said he had sent an email saying that due to a water pipe problem happening a couple days ago they have had to cancel it but I honestly didn't receive it yet. He didn't even call us to comfirm if we received it. Even last minute cancelation Chris didn't find any alternatives for us. He said we reserved four nights but he could offer one night on the day in another suite, so we went down to the building from airport. When we decided to stay on the day, Chris said unhappily, 'if you stay here tonight, even one night , I have to pay housekeeping and cleaning fee.' How can we insist we stay here??? Just uncomfortable. We canceled meeting our friends comig far from Seattle because we spent all evening looking for an alternative. New Westminster has not many choices for accommodations because of not a turistic city.

The building is so old and dusty and smells mold.
I got asthma when I went in to see a room for a short time.

Some ads on this suite says payment by credit card
is accepted but Chris would say when booking cash is better because he doesn't like to pay fee to credit card company.

I would definitely not make a reservation of this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshineandsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Westminster hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The day before we were to check in, I get an email saying that due to a water pipe bursting, they have to cancel my reservation. I spent all day and night looking for a comparable alternative. The next day, I get an email saying they do have something available elsewhere in the same building. Yet, when I asked for some sort of compensation for my troubles, I am told, "I can't believe you're even asking me for a discount". How can they cancel on me last second, yet if I were to cancel, there would have been a fee. I would definitely not take the chance of making a reservation here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We found these cozy studio suites to be economical and conveniently located in downtown New Westminister just two blocks to a skytrain station. ( convenient transport downtown or to the airport ) Chris is very knowledgeable about the area, but was somewhat inaccessible after check-in. Although soap and shampoo were supplied, we were surprised that over a ten day stay we received no housekeeping services. So you clean, empty the trash, wash your own towels and bedding. Royal Eagle Suites has multiple suites so the suite you receive may not be as shown in the photos. Kitchens are well equiped however very small for any serious culinary activities. Suites are clean and in good condition but somewhat dated. Laundry facilities are in the basement and the building is older where air quality is poor and enhanced through open windows. The building is located in an area of dense urbanization where you will experience your neighbours smoking, cooking, or music.

Room Tip: The suite you receive may not be the one shown in photos as they have multiple suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank global3adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The benefits of staying at this property are that it is conviently located and the rate. It is three blocks from the skytrain station so it is easy to get around. The other benefit is that, especially for the Greater Vancouver Regional District, it is well priced for the budget conscious traveller. The level of clealiness of the suites was not good and certainly not up to my standards. Even though I had confirmed with Chris 4 times my arrival and departure dates, including calling while I was enroute from the airport, my suite was not ready. There were dirty dishes in the sink and the bed had not been changed. I ended up doing the dishes myself, and when I went to strip the bed by removing the linens, a huge dust cloud billowed up from the matress. The headboard didn't look like it had been dusted for ages. Also my bathroom smelt like urine. I spent my first night going to the grocery store to buy cleaning supplies, and there was no tissue or toliet paper in my suite either. In addition, the suites themselves are old, poorly decorated, and cluttered. I had an out of control philodendron growing across my ceiling along an intricate web of fishing line??? It was like being on the set of Little Shop of Horrors. The apartment was full of plastic flowers and chachkies which accumulate dust, and the avocado green shag carpeting hadn't been vacuumed for sometime. These suites need to be de-cluttered, dusted and cleaned regualrly, and perhaps painted a nice clean neutral colour and replace the dirty, soiled carpets with some high wearing laminate flooring which is easy to keep clean? It was very noisey and hot and there was no air conditioning or even a room fan (which I had to go out and buy). I had to have the windows open at night, but this let in a lot of noise.I put this on par with a motel, but at least in a motel there is maid service. I would not recommend this property.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoBrampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godollo, Hungary
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This studio was very conveniently located close to sky train station, thus 35 min was enough to get to the city center - facilities, restaurants nearby were very good (including a cheap and good Sushi place). the studio was clean and well equipped, the manager Chris very helpful. The price was really good compared to my previous rooms in downtown. For my rental car, there was free parking available.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAndras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Westminster
Inn at the Quay
#1 of 3 in New Westminster
474 reviews
The Met Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Westminster
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whalley
Days Inn Surrey
Days Inn Surrey
#11 of 19 in Surrey
279 reviews
Happy Day Inn Hotel
#8 of 10 in Burnaby
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Eagle Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Eagle Suites

Property: Royal Eagle Suites
Address: 407 Agnes Street, New Westminster, British Columbia V3L 1G2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > New Westminster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in New Westminster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing