We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Fun!”
Review of Beachside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beachside Motel
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Seven of us had a great 4 days at this motel. Location is right across from a huge park with tennis courts and only 1 block away from Skaha lake and the red sandy beach. Lake rentals are only a 10 minute walk to go boating or waverunnering. Management and staff do a really good job of making families feel at home. In the summer evenings they have movie, popcorn and slushies in the parking lot and let the kids settle and the parents to catch there breath. On site there is also an ice cream parlor with HUGE scoops at very affordable prices. There are a few bbq's on site for outside cooking. Shopping needs are only minutes away by car.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikokam17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Beachside Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed at the Motel last week of August with 3 little kids. Picked a bigger but older room, price was high, $165 per night. But looking back we are very happy this is the place we picked. Location is awesome, we could see the lake from the room and even though it's a Motel the ambiance is great! The middle section has a nice little green area with trees, picnic tables, chairs and BBQ-s so it was always lively with people eating, reading,visiting and kids running around. We really enjoyed it and the kids were making friends, played with the owner's dogs and we felt they are safe to be out there. The walk to the beach was a quick stroll, beautiful park across the street, huge playground and a spray park, all in walking distance. When the weather isn't that great there is the indoor heated pool which at first I thought, oh no, why not outdoor but soon realized how much better is that isn't since the weather wasn't all that great. The rooms was clean, beds uncomfortable though. The best part of course the movie night with popcorn and slushies, a huge hit with all the kids especially mine who are not allowed to watch tv over the summer. Exceptions were made here of course. Because of the movies parents stayed outside too, so it was a nice lively place with little lights, just all charming considering this is a Motel. At the end we had to check out earlier than we thought and the owner was nice enough to book someone else into our room so we paid no penalty, that was really nice. I guess we never had this problem before but apparently with small places like this you can't just get up and leave early. Either way, we love this place and would absolutely stay here again if back in Penticton. The location and the movie nights won us over:)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zarababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Awesome rooms with kitchenette, very clean. People are very friendly, even have a movie in the evening for kids (and adults who want to watch) and popcorn and slushies. About a 3 minute walk to the beach. Great price, excellent service, will stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelgirl040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Immaculate grounds and fresh smelling rooms. Yes somewhat pricey but safe, quiet, active and friendly. I'd say the mattresses are somewhat uncomfortable but not as bad as some I've slept on at various motels. Would definitely suggest this motel to friends. Movie nights were a perfect way to settle the children down before bed and fresh popcorn and slushies was a bonus!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJtennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

While planning our yearly family roadtrip, we decided to spend a few days in the Okanagan and settled on the Beachside Motel after reading the reviews. The hotel is impressively clean, and the outdoor area is heavenly with well-kept landscaping, fun lighting, and relaxing areas to sit. They show a kid-friendly movie every night, with popcorn and slushies--fun! AND it is across the street from Skaha Lake park (south end of Penticton) which is a great park.

That said, while the sheets/bathroom/towels in our room were all clean, the room itself needed some help. The walls were cinderblock, which led our kids to refer to it as the jail cell. No artwork to speak of, except on one wall of a bedroom. The air conditioners were too loud for us to use while we slept, paired with windows we couldn't open, made for uncomfortable sleeping. Upon check-in, we were told that the 2 BR suite we were checking into had been updated--only the range and fridge; most of the fixtures were from the 60's/70's, as was the kitchen (goldenrod countertop had multiple burns and had been used as a cutting board). Since there is no dishwasher, there is a $25 fee for unwashed dishes, which results in people rinsing and replacing dishes (cheese on the grater and greasy glasses)--this is something the management should rethink. WiFi almost worked in our room, so we resorted to using it in the courtyard. We looked into the pool room, but the atmosphere and smell turned the kids off pretty quickly. Other folks were using it, so maybe it's just us.

Might need some extra front-desk workers because each time we needed something, we had to wait until Trudy (one of the host-owners) was available to help. A little frustrating to bend to someone else's schedule when you are on vacation and paying them so much for a room.

Most of the reviewers of this motel are Canadian which leads me to believe that this motel is standard for Canada. Keep all reviews in mind when choosing lodging. Good luck!

Room Tip: Sleeper rooms are probably the best bet.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

It was our 5 or 6th visit to this motel and I think we might return again next year.
PROS: free kids movies with popcorn and drinks; close to the beach; clean rooms; 3 shared BBQs in the yard; ice-cream parlour just around the corner;
CONS: rather pricey; limited and awkward parking; sofa beds are quite UNcomfortable (we had to sleep on the floor instead). People here commented about friendly owners - not really. They appear to be friendly until you try to ask for something and all their friendliness will be gone.

Room Tip: Do not park your car near owner's entrance - in the evening they will have movies for kids right...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anna v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We have been staying at the Beachside since 2010 and have loved every minute. The place is clean, staff always friendly and Trudy and John are wonderful hosts. It's location to the beach and shopping is great. Our family recommends the Beachside 100%.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penticton hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inn at Penticton
3.0 mi away
Ramada Penticton Hotel & Suites
3.2 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre - Penticton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Valley Star Motel
Valley Star Motel
#2 of 44 in Penticton
171 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lakeside Villa Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Empire Motel
Empire Motel
#8 of 44 in Penticton
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Motel

Address: 3624 Parkview St, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6H1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Penticton
Price Range: £61 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachside Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beachside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachside Hotel Penticton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing