We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't want to stay more than a night”
Review of Sunny Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunny Beach Motel
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This was the cheapest motel we could find in Penticton for the Labour Day weekend last minute. We paid $65 a night for 2 nights, and you really do get what you pay for, we didn't expect much. The room was fairly big however the carpet was stained all over and it was really dated. Looks like it hadn't been updated since the 90's and if anything had been updated it had been replaced with stuff that was found at Value Village. There was a hilarious picture on the wall of a shot gun and a crucifix. It felt unclean, and on the first morning I was awoken by the sound of our neighbours getting amourous, the walls are paper thin. Good points are that it is 15 seconds from the Skaha beach which is gorgeous and other amenities, 10 mins drive to central Penticton. When we arrived the owner was unwelcoming, however when we checked out he had perked up a lot and seemed more friendly. Overall it was fair for the price we paid. If I was in a bind I may visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VforVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

We just got back from Penticton, stayed in this wonderful family run motel for 5 nights. We booked 2 bedroom room(it was 4 of us) on second floor, next to the patio. Enjoyed our dinner time on that nice patio almost every night! Very spacious room, nice and clean. Stuff was very friendly and ready to help with all our needs.It is 2 min walk to the beach, there is yammy ice cream place in neighbour hotel. Will be back next time!

Room Tip: We've found that corner room on the second floor is very convenient (very close to stairs and pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morkovka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I stayed here 1 night only and left early the next morning (bike trip with son).
Staff were very friendly...since it was midweek and not too busy, they let me keep my car in the parking lot an additional night even though I was not staying there!
Location is awesome, a few minute walk to the beach/skaha lake.
The room was very basic and kind of dark and everything inside seemed old (furniture, etc).
It seemed clean enough though.

Note on location: I was alone with my kid (3yrs old)--you had to be legal age to get into the only restaurants that were very close and were open. We found a decent Thai place about 10-15 mins walk down the road.


Sept 2011

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank timvan_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Very good service great family motel. The best location in penticton. Very respectful owners

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rtyyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I vacation with my family atleast 3 times a year and enjoy the ability to not have to drive. When we vaction here we often take the river channel right to the end. This is very convient because the motel is located right at the end of the channel. The owner was very generous and gave us a ride to the start of the channel. I come and enjoy skaha beach weeks at a time.

Room Tip: Choose the jacuzzi suite it fits one family easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kukard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Dont know what everyone else is so ticked about, I found the staff very courteous and the room neat and tidy. Best of all, it's just a stones throw away from the beach!

Great rates for a great location. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed 2 nights during the Thanksgiving long weekend. The motel is very basic - some of the furniture (kitchen cabinets) is ancient and in very bad shape. The newer pieces are of the lowest quality. Our room was not ready when we arrived, and, since it was not busy, we were offered a room with kitchen for the same rate, providing that we do not use the kitchen. The room was badly in need of ventilation, as the kitchen was smelling of food - we had that smell all the time we were there, in spite of our efforts to ventilate. The walls were not very clean, with splashes and spider webs - these were cleaned next day when we brought the matter to the owners' attention.
Rooms are very basic, no decoration on the walls. The best seemed to be the bathroom, which had been renovated not too long ago and was clean.
The owners were nice and tried to make our stay enjoyable, but this cannot compensate for the drawbacks of the room.
I have to note the good sound insulation - although we were on the first floor, and had neighbours around, we could not hear them.
In conclusion, it is a good choice if you are looking to spend one night and leave early in the morning. Not a place were you come to spend time in the room.
The location is very close to Skaha lake, so in summer it is very convenient for beach goers. However, the motel has no green area, only parking and two small patios with two gas BBQs at the entrance. I imagine that during the peak season it is a challenge to catch a spot and have a BBQ dinner.
Rates start at $55 in the low season, for two. There is a $10 charge for each additional person. We had to pay $10 extra for our 14 year old daughter. Many places sleep kids accompanying their parents for free.

Room Tip: One of the lower priced motels in Penticton, but you get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MGVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penticton hotels
0.9 mi away
Swiss Sunset Inn
Swiss Sunset Inn
#19 of 43 in Penticton
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valley Star Motel
Valley Star Motel
#3 of 43 in Penticton
171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beachside Motel
Beachside Motel
#15 of 43 in Penticton
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Empire Motel
Empire Motel
#9 of 43 in Penticton
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Travelers Motel
#12 of 43 in Penticton
34 reviews
1.1 mi away
Flamingo Motel
Flamingo Motel
#35 of 43 in Penticton
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Beach Motel

Address: 3648 Parkview St, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6H1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
Price Range: £54 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunny Beach Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Sunny Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Beach Hotel Penticton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing