We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must visit while in Penticton”

Walla Artisan Bakery & Cafe
Ranked #26 of 195 Restaurants in Penticton
Price range: US$5 - US$19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: We are a unique artisan bakery and bistro located in the center of Penticton, serving delicious, rustic dishes for brunch and lunch, all made from scratch with natural ingredients. Our breads and buns are fermented for 3 days and made without any additives. We also have a variety of artisan foods to take home, and from May to October you can find us every Saturday at the local downtown market on Front St.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Must visit while in Penticton”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The owner Ben was so soft-spoken and kind. We couldn't come back for the lunch so he gave us a taste of his pastrami and it was sooooo good. He also gave us a focaccia bun to try and it also was incredible so we bought some of those as well as one of his chocolate flourless cakes. WOW! Sooooo good. The bistro is so pretty too, just like in the photo on his website. Be sure to check the times for lunch as I think it was pretty specific, or just drop by and get something to take away with you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank richthetech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    11
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Princesa, Philippines
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I was visiting a friend and wanted to treat her and her family for dinner. She didn't want to go out and eat so we decided to get some food to take home. After reading the reviews from Tripadvisor and checking out their website we decided to go here. The owner was extremely friendly and accommodating and we ended up chatting with him for awhile. Unfortunately, we made the mistake of going after lunch so a lot of his products were sold out!

We ended up getting a Pastrami Pizza, some dips, gelato and some buns. The pizza and buns were frozen and the owner told us how to heat them up. They were absolutely delicious and the family thoroughly enjoyed it! The only thing that was so-so was the gelato. It was a little on the pricey side but I guess that's what you should expect from artisanal made food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank feistM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“excellent place”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were not hungry but we specially stop by in this place because I digged into the Tripadvisor! Restaurant is small but very well decorated. Food is unusual, as minimum, for not big towns in US. Owners are very friendly. We were alone and spoke almost hour.
My son ate soup and mushroom sandwich. We also ordered couple cakes. All food were excellent!

P.s I am not sure about value (Canadien should know better) and special occasions.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Vasilich V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Smoked pastrami sandwich a high point of a 1000 km drive”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Ok, I admit, I am a total foodie and a chocolate cake dessert snob. Tough combo. I remembered the fabulous foods at Walla from 3 years ago, stopped in Penticton on my way back from Calgary and was in for a real treat.
The house smoked pastrami sandwich made at Walla was simply the best I have ever had. The pickles( also made by Walla ) which came with the sandwich deserved a special mention. The flourless chocolate cake dessert, coffee and the service were all top notch. Thank you Walla!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank MishaRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
153 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“fantastic service!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We went there at 250 pm on Saturday for a late lunch.

Although the Cafe usually closed at 3 and the waitress had gone home, our group of six were welcomed by the owners with a big smile. We ordered some baked goods, some soup and they were terrific. The owner liked to serve the food nicely and he cut up the baked goods and really surprised us with the wonderful serving.

Go try this cafe at The Cannery. A bit out of the way, but worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Jayteekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walla Artisan Bakery & Cafe also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Walla Artisan Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing