We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Penticton
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Comfortable bed”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We were fortunate to find a place to stay over the busy Peach Fest weekend!! With two days notice we found the room ( someone had cancelled) !
We received a booking confirmation, but this did not include good direction to the Hotel. We got quite turned around once we arrived in Penticton as the streets of the town were confusing. ( one ways and streets not running parallel to anything!)
Once we arrived at the Sandman, the staff were helpful and courteous. Our room was clean and the bed very comfortable. The pool area under the inside Atrium was awesome- but the air very hot and uncomfortable!! Perhaps, the outside temperature in the mid 30's had something to do with this?
We attended lakeside activities one night and walked back to the hotel approaching from the rear. There is a security fence around the back parking area making the hotel inaccessible without walking quite a distance to get around to the front of the hotel. It would be great if the fence had a keyed or password gate.
The lobby offered coffee and apples one morning of our stay. On our second day, the counters and coffee table in our room were not wiped by housekeeping, retaining the coffee rings and food grease from the previous nights dinner. Nothing that a facecloth couldn't take care of.......

Room Tip: Book early during the summer months , especially for Peach Fest celebrations!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoria_BCLeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeJenkins, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Penticton, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the helpful and courteous staff, clean room and comfortable bed. We value your feedback and constructive comments. On behalf of all of us at the Sandman Penticton we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    53
    76
    41
    34
See reviews for
54
94
11
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ponteland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed one night over the BC holiday weekend. The hotel was exceptionally busy with young revellers, in fact the partying went on unabated throughout the night... and into the morning! Constant noise, music and door slamming . . .worst nights sleep ever!! The room was rather basic and in need of refurbishment. Reception desk staff seemed disinterested in whether we had had an enjoyable stay. This is a basic price hotel that still does not provide good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeJenkins, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Penticton, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you had a restless night. We staffed 3 security guards all weekend well into the early hours to ensure that all guests had a enjoyable stay for the very reasons you described. We are always in the process of continually updating our room product to better suit our guests needs. Thank you for your feedback and highlighting where we can improve. We hope to see again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Penticton hotels

Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The good news is that the staff we encountered were very helpful, efficient and friendly. Our room was clean, and the bed was comfortable.
The not so good news is that our first view at the entrance to the hotel was chipped and broken cement walkway and very dirty glass on the entrance doors. Not a good first impression.. The hotel public areas are a bit shopworn and the hallway carpets are in great need of a good cleaning. Our room, booked via the Internet was very small but it was clean. All in all, I would say its not a bad place to stay. they just need to do a bit more maintenance. The pool area looked very nice and inviting although we did not have time to use it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeJenkins, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Penticton, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the friendly staff, clean room and comfortable beds. We are in the process of renovating our carpet and repairing the concrete section you refer too. We have done recent upgrades in the pool area as you noted. We look forward to having you back and showing you the improvements!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We only stayed at the Sandman because our other hotel, which we usually stay at, was completely booked. Our room, which was tiny to say the least, was clean and tidy but the carpeting, wallpaper and fixtures are in need of an update. There was no mini fridge or microwave either, shouldn't these items be a standard fixtures? I'd gladly forgo a flat screen TV for a mini fridge anytime! Thankfully we brought a small cooler to keep our beverages cool and we also made full use of the ice machine. We were happy that the bed was comfy and the air con worked well. Unfortunately we ran out of hot water on the morning of check out:(

Most of the common area carpeting, especially the stairwells and elevators, needs replacing badly and also, why hasn't someone invented a door hinge that keeps the doors from slamming shut? This is a huge annoyance at 7am when you're trying to catch a few extra zzzz's. We didn't make much use of the pool because it is only about 3 1/2 feet deep and not nearly big enough for the size of the hotel.

Check in was handled quickly and efficiently and our room maid was very polite and handled our requests with a smile.

I would not recommend this hotel to a friend as there are better ones in the area for the same price. We will book early for next year's August long weekend at a different hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sea-Sand-Sun-Seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeJenkins, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Penticton, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the friendly staff and clean room product. I am sorry to hear that we fell short in other areas. We are always in the process of updating our product to meet our valued guests needs. We do hope that you will visit us again in the near future and we can showcase some upcoming improvements. Once again thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALGARY
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Just got back to Calgary from my stay at this beautiful Sandman Hotel with my beautiful wife. We stayed in room 308 queen bed with kitchen for 2 nights. Sunday and Monday Comfy pillows comfy bed and very clean room. The kitchen area is equipped with a lot of kitchen stuff for cooking. The pool is very nice. Lots of parking and friendly staff. The only thing that i didnt like for the price we payed they dont include breakfast. They do have a dennys restaurant and a nice pub.

Hotel is located in a nice quiet area. close walk to the Okanagan Lake beach. I wouldn't pay any attention to any of the negative posts on here. I would stay at this hotel again next year when i return to Penticton and would recommend this hotel to friends and family. Im sorry i forgot to take pictures to upload on here.

Enjoy your stay and visit in Penticton

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEXYEMIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeJenkins, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Penticton, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed our Studio Kitchen rooms and friendly staff. Excellent comments all around. From all of us at the Sandman Hotel Penticton we thank you and look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel is clean and room spacious. King bed very comfortable. I will say it was a bit noisy as our room close to side entrance and door was banging shut until quite late. Also we stayed at a holiday weekend so exceptionally busy.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenekiernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeJenkins, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Penticton, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for your review. Pleased to hear you enjoyed the Kind beds and had a comfortable stay, certainly a favourite with our valued guests. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Overall, my recent stay at the Sandman Hotel in Penticton was great! The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the overall atmosphere was nice. The pool/spa was refreshing and the new modern touches to the rooms and lobby were very nice. The staff were very efficient and were always willing to help. Their knowledge on the local area and giving directions was great! The only thing I would like to see improve is the elevator. It was probably the noisiest, smallest, and loudest elevator I have been in. I felt like the thing was going to break down. Also it would be nice if there was a complimentary breakfast included too. However, the overall impression/experience was wonderful, and I really appreciate the friendly staff and nice hotel atmosphere. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: -Rooms on the inner pool side can sometimes get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeJenkins, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Penticton, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed the service from our team and overall experience. On behalf of all of us at the Sandman Penticton we thank you and look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penticton hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre - Penticton
2.7 mi away
Best Western Inn at Penticton
0.2 mi away
Ramada Penticton Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Slumber Lodge Motel
Slumber Lodge Motel
#20 of 44 in Penticton
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coast Penticton Hotel
Coast Penticton Hotel
#7 of 44 in Penticton
300 reviews
0.8 mi away
Penticton Lakeside Resort & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Penticton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Penticton

Property: Sandman Hotel Penticton
Address: 939 Burnaby Ave, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1G7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Penticton 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Okanagan Valley wine country, Sandman Hotel Penticton is extremely well situated for guests to take advantage of all local amenities. Featuring two large lakes, a new destination casino, 70 world-class wineries and dozens of golf courses, Sandman Hotel Penticton is a great choice for your next vacation. Also catering to business travelers, this hotel has all the modern amenities such as high-speed Internet, a business centre, and meeting facilities. Sandman Hotel Penticton makes your travels a breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandman Hotel Penticton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penticton Sandman Hotel
Sandman Inn Penticton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing