We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spanish Villa Resort
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great for the price and location”
Reviewed 7 July 2008

We were traveling to Penticton for the 4th of July weekend to train on the Ironman Canada course. We booked our hotel at the last minute and the Spanish Villa was available for $128 CAD/night. The room was really large, which was great since we had bicycles with us. The decor is really out of date, and that's really not relevant to us. :) The beds were comfortable; the AC worked well; the mini-fridge was great to keep our Gatorade and recovery drinks in; and everything was clean. My husband was disappointed that they only provided soap and not shampoo/conditioner. I carry all that stuff with me, so I didn't mind. It's right across the street from the beach on Okanagan Lake and a 10-15 minute walk from Main St and Front St where all the restaurants and bars are.

The only complaint was that a bunch of college students were staying in the room next to us... clearly on a summer vacation as they were really loud when we were trying to go to bed. Good news is that we called the front desk and the manager took care of it. They didn't make any noise from 10:15 pm to 2:00 am (when there was a bit of an issue getting the hotel door open). Can't really blame the hotel for unruly guests... and they get major kudos for handling it and letting us know they wouldn't put up with it.

  • Liked — Location and value
  • Disliked — Noisy college students next door
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    43
    22
    11
    11
See reviews for
36
31
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2007

Be carefull when booking the room. The management doesn't care about you. They care more about making the extra money.
Rob from Hotel Reservation charged me $25 when I've called to cancel only !!! after 1 hour of making the Reservation.
Their rates for July 01 went up so you might be better by shopping around.
(proximity Bowmont, much better choice, nicer people, cheaper rates, same location, outdoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, or Riverside, but book early)

These are Rob's Email quotes.
"Sorry, unfortunatly there is a fee for cancellation right after the reservation is entered in the computer and the deposit is taken.
The management wants to make sure people are sure when they book reservations so place that onus on the guest so they have something to lose if they cancel so they don't book willie nillie and cancel just because they wern't sure they were comming for sure and now are."

I was disappointed as this is not the way to do business in Canada.

  • Liked — good location
  • Disliked — unfriendly personnel
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabe64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Penticton hotels

leeds england
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2005

This hotel offers good value. We paid 100 dollars for a two room suite with two beds plus a sofa bed. Full cooking facilities (stove plus microwave) together with a fridge freezer were included. The place is not very Spanish. It is just a good motel in a very good location adjacent to some average restaurants. Better restaurants are to be found on Main Street a mile or so away.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank bpcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 July 2004

Our girls soccer team stayed at the Spanish Villa for the Provincial tournament in July 2004 and thoroughly enjoyed it. The location is fantastic, having the beach across the street as well as being within walking distance of many restaurants and other attractions.
The rooms are a little small and "dated" but were very clean and the staff were friendly and tolerant of the kids (15 year old girls!) and our fun loving parents!

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 August 2003

We have been staying at the Spanish Villa during the last two weeks of August for the past 5 years and will continue to do so. It is a nice hotel with a friendly staff. The decore of the rooms is a bit "dated" but they are clean and comfortable. The best feature is the proximity (directly across the street) to the beach on Okanagan Lake. The hotel is within walking distance of at least 6 restaurants plus the hotel provides bbq's for your grilling pleasure.

Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, B.C.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2003

This will be our third summer staying at the Spanish Villa Resort in Penticton. We travel with our three kids and meet our parents and siblings at the Spanish Villa where we all book a room/suite. The Villa is centrally located across the street from the beach and within walking distance to the Casino and kid's putt putt. The beach is the centre of activity, providing quiet morning coffee walks, daytime fun, and evening bonfires.

The Villa has been a great meeting place for our family. It provides VERY clean accomodations (with daily maid service), laundry facilities, BBQ's, and an indoor pool (a great respite for inclement weather). We always get a unit with a kitchen and we are able to make meals (when we feel inspired!), but we can also go to any one of the many restaurants that are within walking distance.

This has been a great holiday destination for the whole family -- a place where memories are made!

Helpful?
30 Thank Penelope P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penticton hotels
0.4 mi away
Slumber Lodge Motel
Slumber Lodge Motel
#20 of 44 in Penticton
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre - Penticton
0.5 mi away
Ramada Penticton Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Best Western Inn at Penticton
0.0 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#22 of 44 in Penticton
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crown Resort Motel
Crown Resort Motel
#10 of 44 in Penticton
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spanish Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Villa Resort

Property: Spanish Villa Resort
Address: 890 Lakeshore Dr W, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1C1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Spanish Villa Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across from the sandy beaches of beautiful Okanagan Lake, The Spanish Villa Resort awaits you and your family, whether on vacation or business. Situated only minutes away from the Penticton Convention Centre, South Okanagan Events Centre, Okanagan Hockey School, tennis courts and children's play park and close to golfing and the downtown area, this resort is also conveniently located within steps of some of Penticton's finest restaurants. We offer Studio rooms and one, two or three bedroom kitchen suites with full kitchen. The Spanish Villa Resort is a great place for families and seniors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spanish Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spanish Villa Hotel Penticton
Spanish Hotel Penticton
Spanish Resort Penticton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing