We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swiss Sunset Inn

Swiss Sunset Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Swiss Sunset Inn
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Here for the annual bridge tournament. Things started out on a bad note when the manager wouldn't honor the rate he quoted last year. The place is barely adequate if you have low standards, but not anything I could recommend. The rooms are dirty and outdated, the "kitchen units" consist of a tiny stovetop with a mini fridge below, with a sink to the side. Pair this with bent or broken silverware, dirty dishes and glasses, no fry pan, and you get the picture.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank estatebroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    15
    6
    7
    3
See reviews for
16
10
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Always a pleasant stay, four years in a row now. The Swiss Sunset is reasonalby priced with friendly staff and clean, quiet rooms. The location is perfect ,close to all the pubs and restaurants as well groceries. Skaha Bluffs climbing is 10 minutes away and good cycling in every direction. I like the fact that when I am done climbing or biking I can relax in a quite and clean room with all the necessary amenities and or outside at the patio tables in the shade. I will be staying again.
Bruce D.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessiepenticton, Manager at Swiss Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank You Bruce for your nice review of our property and we promise you that we will stay the course for cleanliness and customer service and you will be looked after with respect and dignity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

A dainty little motel. Although it is somewhat outdated, it has an almost vintage vibe to it. I would recommend this place for the friendly staff, and the impeccable cleanliness of the rooms and washroom. The beds were comfortable and all amenities were available to us. New tvs and bedding, with free wifi as well was a bonus! Disappointed that the pool was not open for the season yet as we had some nice sunshine during our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd floor are much more spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessiepenticton, Owner at Swiss Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank You for your review and we promise you that you will always be looked after at our little motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Although reasonably pleasant, this motel was overpriced for what we got. In think there are much better deals to be had in Penticton.
The bed was uncomfortable, the rooms need updating, the hair dryer in the bathroom was useless, and the TV was bizarrely hooked up to a light switch.
That said, the common areas outside where the BBQ was was nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kershal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessiepenticton, Owner at Swiss Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback about our property and we will fix the shortcomings which you pointed but i know that you are staying with us for last 4 to 5 years as a DRAGON BOAT GROUP. We know the rate was little higher this year than last years.I am the OWNER/Operator of this property and remember you came to the office about the hair-dryer and i gave you my daughter's hair-dryer to use it and mentioned it might be over-heated, same dryer is working fine now.I apperciate your feedback. If you book with us for next year we wii give you the same rate which we did in the past year.Thanks Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We recently stayed at the Swiss Sunset Inn. While our room looked reasonably clean, it and the rest of the facility could use some work. Although their web site says "25 freshly renovated units", it looks like the facility was last updated sometime in the 80s. The sink's finish was all crackled, the faucet's aerator spattered water all over the place when you turned the sink's faucet on, and the shower head (complete with big temperature swings) is only 6 feet high.

While it can be argued that less facility upkeep can keep prices low, sometimes it's all about the owner simply cutting too many corners to save a buck... At the end of our 2 night stay, I noticed that we were almost out of toilet paper--and we started with half a roll. While we don't expect to be showered by lavish luxury, not providing a spare roll to avoid an awkward situation seems kind of chintzy.

The facility could use some upkeep as well--many of the outdoor light fixtures have about 1/4 inch of dead bugs on the bottom, a picnic table had a broken leg, door trim paint looked 20 years old, etc.

If you can get in the low season for $50 maybe it's worth it, but in the high season or if there is a major event in town, the owner charges well above the rates posted on the web site, I'd highly recommend looking elsewhere; I've had MUCH better for the same price we paid.

I don't understand all the 4 and 5 star/circle reviews for this place. I don't know how anybody can give it more than 3. I did notice that many of the 4 or 5 raters have only one review submitted to TripAdvisor, though. I don't know how much weight I'd put on them.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GetMor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessiepenticton, Owner at Swiss Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
We at SWISS SUNSET INN Appreciate your feedback about our property even though it is all negative.I know that our property is not 4 or 5 star by any means and we do not advertise either.Each and every property has pros and cons but from your review nothing but cons.Most properties in our town are about the same age our motel is.We do pride ourselves in cleanliness.I know some members of your group were concerned about the higher rate than last year , i hope that might not be the reason about all these negative comments.We always welcome you back as our valued guest and your comments positive or negative and will try our best to fix the problems you mentioned.Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Penticton hotels

agassiz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We recently stayed at the Inn on the Regatta weekend and were very disappointed in our choice of motel - the carpet was filthy; the sheets on the bed appeared clean but did not fit the bed; the towel rack in the bathroom was broken and the sink's finish needs repair. The grout around the tub could also be replaced. The coffee pot didn't work properly because the filter basket was plugged up with old coffee grounds. The seal around the fridge door was disentegrating and very dirty. Because it was a busy weekend for all motels, it was not possible to find another place to stay. We, as a group, had also received a quoted price which was not honoured at check-in time. After some discussion the following day, we finally received our agree-to price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angus642013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessiepenticton, Owner at Swiss Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thanks for your feedback, we at SWISS SUNSET INN take every comment seriously positive or negative.I am very surprised you did not complain about anything while you were here ,some things are easy fix if brought to attention.We are a small place but we do have the house-keepers in summer months but they are human also.We do have 2 type of sheets king size and queen size they must have put both queen on your bed, king size is supposed to go on the bottom then again easy fix if brought to attention.Dirty coffee pot i could have given you new one and felt sorry because you were our valued guest.We will try our best to attend all your comments before your next visit. By the way about your group rate as soon the mistake was brought to my attention it was addressed right away no question asked why mention.Anyhow Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

My two sons and I stayed at the Swiss Sunset in early Aug., during Peach Festival.
We were very happy with our stay there, and found everything we needed. Our kitchenette
was stocked with all that we could possibly need, and we made good use of it. The room, and motel itself, are very well-maintained (super clean!), and this would include the pool. The pool was a big hit with my boys!
In addition, the owner is very kind and helpful, and made us feel most welcome (even before we arrived!)
A great place to stay with kids!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonya121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessiepenticton, Owner at Swiss Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thanks for your feedback.Sorry to acknowledge your comment little late because as you know we were very busy in summer months.We thank you again for liking our property and what we offer.We at SWISS SUNSET INN welcome you back again and your family and friends Thanks Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penticton hotels
0.3 mi away
Pass Motor Inn
Pass Motor Inn
#32 of 44 in Penticton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Inn at Penticton
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Penticton BC
Super 8 Penticton BC
#10 of 44 in Penticton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apple Tree Inn
Apple Tree Inn
#14 of 44 in Penticton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#18 of 44 in Penticton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sahara Courtyard Inn Penticton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Sunset Inn

Property: Swiss Sunset Inn
Address: 2604 Skaha Lake Rd, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6G1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Swiss Sunset Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Swiss Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing