We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Swiss Sunset Inn

Swiss Sunset Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swiss Sunset Inn
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our first stay at the Swiss Sunset Inn was in 2003 and we have stayed here 7 times throughout the years. It is a quiet motel with a nice large pool, a sitting area where you can barbecue and best of all a relaxing atmosphere. When our summer vacations bring us to Penticton, we always stay here. We appreciate how Peter (the owner) keeps the grounds well kept and the rooms are clean and tidy. Any issues or problems we have had are fixed and dealt with immediately. We like that he has set quiet hours where the outside lights are dimmed and the No Vacancy sign is lit up so the current guests can sleep undisturbed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

I have stayed at the Swiss Sunset Inn many many times over the past 5 years. Peter and his staff go out of their way to make sure you are taken care of. I stay here not only for vacation but also during my regular business trips through out the year. The Pool is always perfect and the room are kept to a very high standard. Don't hesitate to spend time at the Swiss Sunset Inn!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just spent a couple of days. Very nice, clean & quiet. Clean rooms& good service
Very well priced. BBQ's are a big plus. Close to the lake. Shopping, restaurants are
close by. Liked the pub next to it, can't remember the name.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AP_8294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Here for the annual bridge tournament. Things started out on a bad note when the manager wouldn't honor the rate he quoted last year. The place is barely adequate if you have low standards, but not anything I could recommend. The rooms are dirty and outdated, the "kitchen units" consist of a tiny stovetop with a mini fridge below, with a sink to the side. Pair this with bent or broken silverware, dirty dishes and glasses, no fry pan, and you get the picture.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank estatebroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Always a pleasant stay, four years in a row now. The Swiss Sunset is reasonalby priced with friendly staff and clean, quiet rooms. The location is perfect ,close to all the pubs and restaurants as well groceries. Skaha Bluffs climbing is 10 minutes away and good cycling in every direction. I like the fact that when I am done climbing or biking I can relax in a quite and clean room with all the necessary amenities and or outside at the patio tables in the shade. I will be staying again.
Bruce D.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessiepenticton, Manager at Swiss Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank You Bruce for your nice review of our property and we promise you that we will stay the course for cleanliness and customer service and you will be looked after with respect and dignity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

A dainty little motel. Although it is somewhat outdated, it has an almost vintage vibe to it. I would recommend this place for the friendly staff, and the impeccable cleanliness of the rooms and washroom. The beds were comfortable and all amenities were available to us. New tvs and bedding, with free wifi as well was a bonus! Disappointed that the pool was not open for the season yet as we had some nice sunshine during our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd floor are much more spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessiepenticton, Owner at Swiss Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank You for your review and we promise you that you will always be looked after at our little motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Although reasonably pleasant, this motel was overpriced for what we got. In think there are much better deals to be had in Penticton.
The bed was uncomfortable, the rooms need updating, the hair dryer in the bathroom was useless, and the TV was bizarrely hooked up to a light switch.
That said, the common areas outside where the BBQ was was nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kershal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessiepenticton, Owner at Swiss Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback about our property and we will fix the shortcomings which you pointed but i know that you are staying with us for last 4 to 5 years as a DRAGON BOAT GROUP. We know the rate was little higher this year than last years.I am the OWNER/Operator of this property and remember you came to the office about the hair-dryer and i gave you my daughter's hair-dryer to use it and mentioned it might be over-heated, same dryer is working fine now.I apperciate your feedback. If you book with us for next year we wii give you the same rate which we did in the past year.Thanks Again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penticton hotels
0.7 mi away
Valley Star Motel
Valley Star Motel
#3 of 43 in Penticton
172 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramada Penticton Hotel & Suites
2.3 mi away
Sandman Hotel Penticton
Sandman Hotel Penticton
#29 of 43 in Penticton
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
5000 Motel
5000 Motel
#18 of 43 in Penticton
36 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Villa Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
Spanish Villa Resort
Spanish Villa Resort
#23 of 43 in Penticton
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Sunset Inn

Address: 2604 Skaha Lake Rd, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6G1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
Price Range: £47 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Swiss Sunset Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Swiss Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing