We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for all!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Penticton Lakeside Resort & Conference Centre
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Jenick44
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great place for all!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Pros:

Location is wonderful (beach, wine country)
15 minutes drive or less to wine country Naramata
2 Restaurants, 1 Bar
24 Hour room service
Nightlife
Boat and Seadoo rentals on site
Private Beach with full bar and food service
Great food

Cons
Dated and needs a renovation
Rooms are a little loud due to patio bar noise

Room Tip: Spring for a full lake view room for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenick44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    210
    127
    53
    41
See reviews for
101
245
17
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed up here for work ,and was by far the best hotel I have stayed at for work. I had a great view of the lake from my room, which was awesome waking up to every morning. The restaurants are along the water so that you can sit outside and enjoy the lake. There was a little night club to attend, as well as a casino, where smoking was not allowed at the table (don't have to go to bed smelling of cigarettes). I would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room facing the lake, and not the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Where do I start? They have a night club, an amazing restaurant on a pier and another with a lake view, sea-doo and boat rentals, a private beach that has food and beverage service, a casino, and even para-sailing. We had a great family vacation at this resort, we had a 2 room suite that was great for a family of 4. we enjoyed an excellent breakfast each day with breakfast coupons that they had supplied for the Hooded Merganser (the restaurant on the pier),,, there is nothing better than breakfast on the patio to start your day. On Saturday we woke up to a farmer's market taking up 2 or 3 blocks of main street starting right at the resort, they served whine and beer at the market as well...

Room Tip: Book far enough ahead and ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam B.C.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights as our daughter was getting married in Summerland. Ate at the Hooded Merganser Grill and the Barking Parrot Pub. Stayed in a room above the Barking Parrot Pub. It was a little noisy but with glass doors closed and ear plugs it was fine. View of the lake is awesome. I actually liked this room better because it got the afternoon sun.

Room Tip: Stay on the side looking over the Hooded Merganser Grill if you don't want the noise from the Ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fourcads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
godpr, General Manager at Penticton Lakeside Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Reviewer:
Firstly, we are grateful that you chose to stay with us during a very special and momentous time, and are glad to hear that your experience was comfortable and enjoyable. We are happy that you were able to sample some of our restaurants and take in the panoramic lakefront views. We appreciate your review and hope that you will choose to stay with us again during your next visit to the South Okanagan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sicamous, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The hotel staff were very friendly and always helpful. We stayed in one of the Penthouse Suites on the top floor for 3 nights. It was a pretty nice room, with wonderful views of the lake. It was however a little dated, much like the rest of the hotel and really needed some renovations. The carpet was lifting up in some areas. With our room we received complimentary parking, and $25 each day for breakfast at the Hooded Merganser. The room had 2 bathrooms, both with a vanity and toilet. One had a 2 person tub, the other had a shower. Like many hotels I've stayed in, the water pressure in the shower was terrible. I ended up deciding on a bath part way through the shower in order to wash my hair. I don't know why it's so hard to find a hotel with a decent shower. Also, both bathroom floors sat higher than the room floor, so I was constantly stubbing my toe when going in to the bathroom. The hotel also has a pool and hot tub. Both in desperate need of renovations. The hotel has a beautiful private beach, with loungers available for use by hotel guests.

Room Tip: Definitely spring for the lake view rooms! Gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eevanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Nice clean hotel. Could be brighter. Rooms average. Beds Comfy. Beautiful patio bar that turns into nightclub at night. Quiet and relaxing during the day. Turns Crazy in the evening. Also you have to pay a cover charge to sit on the patio at night. Unless you can stand the loud music & young adults? I would not recommend it. We ate dinner at the Bufflehead. Food & service were good. The Hooded Merganser for breakfast was very good. You also are charged for parking even when staying at the hotel.Casino is Average. Also Dark! The casino bar was hopping and the service at the bar was great! Vicky is Amazing!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. Choose lake view or you get to look at the parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marshloopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

A quick two night getaway to take my mom wine tasting. We booked two 'beach view' rooms for about $241 plus taxes per night each. I read mostly positive reviews of this hotel so was looking forward to a beach-side resort style place.

We were given two adjoining rooms on the third level. I don't recommend this level for the beach-view rooms as it's right over a very large roof so most of your view is dominated by the roof with some city-park and beach in the distance.

The hotel immediately struck me as very dated and dark. The 90's heavy and dark decor didn't suit or compliment the bright beach-side location. The lobby and commons areas need to take advantage of this and be renovated in a bright and airy way with light colours and modern, clean and minimal furniture.

The rooms had a very dated heavy dark 90's feel as well. They did little to inspire a beach or lakeside mood, in fact they were bordering on depressing. The furniture might have been considered high-end in it's day but looked excessively dated and some of it was rather worn. The lining from under the armchair was hanging off, the carpet edges were fraying badly and the top sheets were torn in several places. It wasn't awful and in fact was relatively clean, it just didn't look fresh, welcoming or inviting at all. I hope they're planning some significant updates soon or I anticipate more 'meh' reviews.

We dined in the Hooded Merganser for dinner which was enjoyable. Food was pretty good, standard fare of seafood, steaks, some bowls and salads. My only complaint was the bread, $5 for four brown & serve hamburger buns spread out on a dinner plate.., come-on guys where's the artisan bread basket?... you're in wine country.

Overall I'd caution recommending this place unless you get a great deal. Splurge for the lake- views, the beach-views are just ok and will leave you wanting more. The staff seemed pleasant as well but I hope a big reno is in the cards, they've got the great setting but are not keeping pace with the high-standards of this area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank connect2source
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
godpr, General Manager at Penticton Lakeside Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this response and for your careful considerations. We would also like to thank you for choosing to spend your family time with us. It is unfortunate that you did not find the interior to your taste. The hotel has indeed, undergone recent comprehensive renovations, which includes ongoing upgrades to rooms and furnishings, while carpets are frequently refreshed. However we have duly noted your concerns. We are glad that you found the rooms satisfactory however, in cleanliness and facility. We are also pleased to hear that your dinner experience at one of our restaurants was enjoyable and that you were able to take advantage of the wine country. We hope that you would choose us again, should your travels bring you back to the South Okanagan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penticton
1.0 mi away
Ramada Penticton Hotel & Suites
3.0 mi away
Best Western Inn at Penticton
0.9 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre - Penticton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Sandman Hotel Penticton
Sandman Hotel Penticton
#30 of 44 in Penticton
242 reviews
3.2 mi away
Valley Star Motel
Valley Star Motel
#3 of 44 in Penticton
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penticton Lakeside Resort & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penticton Lakeside Resort & Conference Centre

Property: Penticton Lakeside Resort & Conference Centre
Address: 21 Lakeshore Dr W, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 7M5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Penticton Lakeside Resort & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penticton Lakeside Resort is a full service hotel in Penticton that offers luxurious amenities, clean, spacious rooms, and a spectacular view of Okanagan Lake. We offer a number of dining options, nearby attractions, and room accommodations to ensure that you can thoroughly enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Penticton Lakeside Resort & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penticton Lakeside Resort Convention Centre And Casino
Penticton Lakeside Resort Convention Centre Hotel Penticton
Penticton Lakeside Hotel Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing