We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant stay after a bad experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rochester Resorts

Rochester Resorts
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rochester Resorts
Ranked #39 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay after a bad experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

I first stayed in this hotel August 2012. We had a very bad experience that warranted a negative review on this site. I was later contacted by hotel management and was offered a free stay to make up for the experience, which I took advantage of in July 2013. I was wary of doing so, but my experience this time around was a complete polar opposite. The room was very clean, the management was especially accommodating, and for the location you cannot beat it. I was also given a peek at the newly renovated suite and it is absolutely gorgeous. Would definitely stay at this location again! Thanks all for the great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_molly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochesterresort, General Manager at Rochester Resorts, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for your comments, we will ensure to pass them along to our staff, and look forward to your return visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    14
    9
    5
    21
See reviews for
8
22
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed at the Rochester last week and to sum up our stay in one word ... perfect!Our suite was sparkling clean and the kitchen had all the essentials (and more) that we needed. The location was perfect right across the beach. We enjoyed bbq'ing on the deck. The bbq's and tools were clean and ready for use. This will be the only place we stay at when we return to Penticton. John and Patty were very gracious and helpful in every way possible and they really go out of their way to make your stay perfect. Thank you, John and Patty, for making our little getaway so amazing! We'll see you again very soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochesterresort, General Manager at Rochester Resorts, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. We and our staff at the Rochester constantly strive to maintain cleanliness of the rooms and amenities, and provide a secure and enjoyable environment for all our valued guests. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Worst service ever and the owner is really rude. The rooms were so classic and old and smelled disgusting. The only good thing was the beach but it didn't help making this disgusting motel better. I'd rather sleep on the beach.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Navreet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochesterresort, General Manager at Rochester Resorts, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
We pride ourselves in maintaining, clean, comfortable , newly renovated rooms for our new and repeat family and tourist guests. We neither encourage or condone excessive loud partying and noise which disturbs other guests in the motel, especially after quiet time, as noted on our signed registration form, nor do we allow unregistered guests after 10.00 PM, especially if indeed they are contributing to excessive noise, resulting in complaints from other guests. Additionally, we have a reasonable expectation the registered guest will treat other guests and the property in a respectful manner, including placing discarded food waste, ie:Tandoori chicken wing bones, in the appropriate containers, as opposed to throwing them over the railing onto the parking lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Penticton hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

The managers of this accommodation are working hard to upgrade the facilities and welcome their guests. While not fancy, the place is clean and well maintained. The location is outstanding - across from the beach. Overall it is good value. It is obvious, there are an increasing number of return guests who appreciate the care and pride the managers have in the facility.

Room Tip: Could not delete the note on the swimming pool - see above. There is no pool, it the beach is wond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WendelinF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a bachelorette weekend. Staff (owners?) were very warm and welcoming. Good value and located right across from the beach. walking distance to lots of restaurants and shops. Rooms were ready for us early and spotlessly clean. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cgouldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

My business requires me to work away from home. I've stayed in a lot of motels from northern Alberta to BC and I can say the rooms in this motel are very clean, location is great ( right across from the beach) very affordable but most importantly the managers, John and Patty , are great people. I felt very welcome there just like home. I would highly recommend staying at the Rochester Resort and look forward to staying there again when business or vacation brings me back to Penticton.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaybmxdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

I stayed from September 19 to the 23, 2012 and had read some of the previous reviews before I got to the Hotel. The Lady at the front desk was pleasant from the second we entered the door. We had rented 2 rooms and we were a little needy because my friend was getting married on the beach and required some of the hotels services. We were helped above and beyond what we asked for. The rooms are not the Taj Mahal but were clean. I had mentiioned to the staff member about some previous comments some people had made regarding the hotel and she said they were all true and the Inappropriate staff had been fired. Very good place and location to stay in Penticton.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penticton hotels
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre - Penticton
0.1 mi away
Golden Sands Resort Motel
Golden Sands Resort Motel
#23 of 44 in Penticton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.5 mi away
Slumber Lodge Motel
Slumber Lodge Motel
#15 of 44 in Penticton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#18 of 44 in Penticton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spanish Villa Resort
Spanish Villa Resort
#25 of 44 in Penticton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Black Sea Motel & Restaurant
Black Sea Motel & Restaurant
#17 of 44 in Penticton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rochester Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rochester Resorts

Property: Rochester Resorts
Address: 970 Lakeshore Dr W, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1C1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rochester Resorts 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rochester Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochester Resort Penticton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing