We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel”

Hostelling International - Penticton
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostelling International - Penticton
Sechelt, BC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great hostel”
Reviewed 29 July 2010

I stayed at this hostel for one night while travelling with my husband and 4 year old daughter. They made us feel very welcome. When we mad our reservation they told us that the family room was already booked but that the 3 of us could have a room designed for 4 people to ourselves. The room was perfect.

And though we were the only family (with young children) that we saw we were made to feel very welcome. There was a wide variety of travelers: of all ages, singles, couples, local and international travelers.

This is a renovated heritage home. Which means (similiar to other hostels which are renovated historic buildings) that all the rooms are different and can vary greatly in shape and design. It looked to me as all the "bunkrooms" had 2 bunks in them.

The bedrooms and common areas were clean. Lots of information about local attractions were available. I liked the location - it was walking distance to the beach but in a quiet are of penticton. The hostel itself was very quiet at night. Penticton is hot in the summer and though we were told there was air conditioning it didn't seem to kick on until about 3am.

There is limited free parking available. But we lucked out as the meter parking out front wasn't in effect during the evening nor on Sundays and were staying on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thecoastcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    15
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
9
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
500 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

I was in a bad mood when I arrived here, staying in kelowna and kamloops just before for a few nights, I was overloaded and glad for a break, the check in was simple and easy to find my way around after a welcome from the staff and orientation.
Plus the staff were very helpful, arranging my orientation and helping to check in for my vancouver stay later,,
It was a very good price considering the price of some other HI in Canada..


Unique Qualities: FREE internet station(with donations)
Unique staff members
Great nights out at the hockey matches of the penticton vee's..
Bike hire
Nice tv room underneath and quiet nights on occasion,

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnretroreload
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2009

This hostel is not on the main drag but about 2-3 mins from - this is ideal because there is very little street noise. Towels and bedding were included which is the same as many HI hostels (most but not all provide this).

We have a private room which has a comfy enough mattress with bunk over it. The only HI bed we've liked more was the one at Banff - but this hostel is our favourite of all. Even if you were to stay in one of the share rooms, they are not big dorm rooms and it wouldn't be a big issue I don't think, ie 2 bunks in the rooms I've peeked into which would be good for families too. The women's bathroom is great and very private although there's only 1 upstairs - but there is another downstairs so its not an issue.

There is a washing machine & dryer which is $1.25 which is fantastic. The facilities of dining area/lounge/kitchen are really lovely with natural light. There's lots of bench and fridge space in the kitchen. The staff here are really lovely and fun to have chats with.

There are only 3 carparks out the back so you might need to park on the street - in which case you'll need to put money in the parking machine every 2 hours during business hours m-f. it's a good motivation to get up and go early.

This region is not exactly your party-hard type area so we were pleased to see the people staying here are "mature" (not meaning many are much older than us in our 30's) but there is a much broader range of people here and we all respect a good nights sleep!

It's worth having a car in Penticton because you can drive to all the wineries. There are some great walks here too and the area is hilly so you'll have no probs getting your heart rate up! Also, go to CK's Grill on the foreshore (in the "Mediterranean" building up from the Mexican place) as it's an inexpensive but delicious feed with the best views - and the SANGRIA is to die for!!!!! $11 a half litre can't be beat! Mondays in Penticton at the Pasta House there is $6 pasta, a great feed.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julesandheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2009

I stayed in this hostel one day in March, off-season, so no other travellers.
The only occupants were homeless, jobless, unsympathetic men, aging 30-60.
They were very noisy at night. There is a dirty kitchen and a dirty toilet/shower.
Good parking round the back.

No fun place to be.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dutch-travellover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Penticton hotels

Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2007

Like other Hostelling International places, this hostel had quiet time, usually between 11pm - 7am, which is a real bonus. The hostel is located close to Okanagan Lake and just off the main street. Rooms are fine and the beds are secured to the wall (no rocking when your bunk mate moves). Staff are friendly. i would recommend this hostel for travellers on a budget. My only complaint - very few showers so you might have to wait during peak periods.

  • Liked — Location, staff
  • Disliked — only 2 showers for women
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank misty75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penticton hotels
1.0 mi away
Ramada Penticton Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Slumber Lodge Motel
Slumber Lodge Motel
#15 of 44 in Penticton
68 reviews
1.0 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre - Penticton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Inn at Penticton
2.7 mi away
Valley Star Motel
Valley Star Motel
#2 of 44 in Penticton
146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Penticton Lakeside Resort & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International - Penticton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - Penticton

Property: Hostelling International - Penticton
Address: 464 Ellis St, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 4M2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostelling International - Penticton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing