We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They really couldn't care less”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coast Penticton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“They really couldn't care less”
Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

My mom took my girls on a mini holiday to Penticton and stayed here. The room they booked was not what they show a picture of. The corner of one bed pushes into the corner of the other bed. Housekeeping couldn't make the beds properly because of this so my 73 year old mother had to make her own bed every morning. There is a giant pillar in the middle of the room. Definitely not a room for 3 people. The pool was always locked so you had to hunt somebody down to get to it. She did address these but they were dismissed. There are pictures of an indoor water slide on the Internet, but they have taken it down and not bothered showing updated pictures on their own site. When these issues were brought to the attention of the general manager she simply said next time they will make sure she's in a better room. NEXT TIME???? What next time? She was dismissed and put aside not once but twice! I suggested to the general manager maybe offer a discount to bring her back but the general manager can't be bothered to now respond to me. Save your money and go to the Ramada Hotel in penticton!!! Much nicer and better staff.


  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiona d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    98
    55
    29
    13
See reviews for
86
93
9
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Conakry, Conakry, Guinea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed at the Coast Penticton for 5 nights in July. The renovation is beautifully done and the spa-type bathroom is gorgeous. The beds were amazingly comfortable. There is a small fridge in the room and a coffee maker with tea & coffee provided. One downfall of the rooms is the lack of some sort of black-out window treatment. There are beautiful white wooden shutters but they don't keep much light out and if facing the street, the Hotel Sign is glaringly bright at night and lights up the room somewhat.

Service at reception was very good until the morning of check out. We asked to extend to a 'late check out' and offered to pay a fee but the receptionist was rather rude. It turned out they were fully booked and that is understandable but being so blatently rude is not. A simple, I'm sorry, we would love to be able to accomodate your request but unfortunately we are fully booked...would have been appreciated as opposed to "NO, we're too busy".

House keeping was definitely lacking. While the rooms are very clean upon arrival, they are not serviced properly throughout the stay. Over a 5 night stay, we had to ask reception for the toiletries to be replaced each day and we had to ask for toilet paper twice. Reception was very accomodating and brought the items to the room. When we initially checked into our room, we found a set of keys with what appeared to be a master key card on the dresser, it turned out the housekeep had forgotten her keys in our room. This might have been a problem if we were not honest people and tried to get into other rooms. We immediately found another housekeeper and passed the keys along to her.

The small pool area is in need of a face lift for sure. The pool itself is clean but needs to be drained and repainted, the lounge chairs are in need of a good clean and the general patio area doesn't appear to be tidied up on a daily basis.

All-in-all we were satisfied with the hotel as it was comfortable and the rooms are beautiful but a little more attention to detail would go a very long way in raising this review from Average to Very Good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne Marie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This was my first stay at a coast hotel and a last minute pick. Everything about the room was very nice. No breakfast included. Which seemed to be the way of things in the Okanogan. But very comfortable!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alpinegardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I would have loved to stay in one of the rooms with the big bathrooms, but since we travel as a family the suite was a better deal for us. Some hotels call a room a suite if there is a sitting area, but these are actual suites with a separate bedroom. The beds were comfortable, the decor modern and everything was very clean. Good service and great location. Only one minor negative- some of the finishing details of the reno seemed incomplete or poorly done- for example wires showing. Really a minor comment- we loved everything about our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank family_travelers4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We were happy to find this little gem of a hotel in Penticton. In a place where most of the hotels/motels are very outdated, it was a treat to stay at the Coast. Rooms were beautiful - very clean, modern and had the hotel feel. Beds were very comfy and had lots of pillow to choose from and nice white duvets. The pool had 2 pools, indoor and outdoor. They were both dated - old style rectangle pools. But they were quite warm, and the kids loved them. Jackie was a wonderful front desk clerk. Very friendly and doing her best to make the guests happy. She surely goes up an beyond expectations!!! Other front desk staff were OK, but no where near Jackie. The hotel also has a new BBQ for guests to enjoy, and a lovely grass area for kids to run. (It would have been nice to have a playground or something in the large bare grass area - but it was still nice to have one) We went for Breakfast at the on site restaurant The Bears Den. They claim to have the BEST Breakfast in town. Don't waste your time! Denny's is across the street and FAR better then the Bear's. Waffles at the Bear's were dry and heavy, and the topping was plain hard strawberries - not local fruit like they claimed, rather strawberries from California - that were dry and had no syrup on them. Denny's was FAR better!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We booked a premier suite; which was great as we had family visit us in our room. Although it rained everyday of out trip; we still could swim as this hotle has indoor & outdoor pools. The hot tub was great; pleasantly warm; not too hot.
The rooms have been renoed; and done quite nicely. I 've readd about the bathrooms from toher reviews and agree that they should renoe them as well;althought the tub is in fair conditiont he tiles don't suit the rest of the new decor. The housekeeping & front desk staff were EXCELLENT; very friendly and helpful. Being over 55 and getting the seniors discount made this property even more appealing. Beds & pillows were fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank habbie1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

After staying in several motels in the city of Penticton, none has held a candle to the service and accomodations presented at the Coast hotel. Wow! Talk about kind, caring, fun, and accomodating! Everyone from the maid to the front desk clerk was a sheer delight. Jackie--if you have the pleasure of meeting her--was especially wonderful.

It's would be impossible to write a review about this hotel without at least mentioning the beautiful rooms as well...everything from the luxurious down comforters on the bed, the big screen tv, and the great big towels in the bathroom were beyond impressive! It was hard to resist stuffing that towel in my suitcase! (of course, I didn't, but the thought crossed my mind, lol)

Thank you Coast hotel! You provided a marverlous experience for me and my son...we will never stay at another hotel in Princeton for as long as we live. C'est magnifique!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paramount84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penticton
0.2 mi away
Ramada Penticton Hotel & Suites
2.7 mi away
Best Western Inn at Penticton
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre - Penticton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sandman Hotel Penticton
Sandman Hotel Penticton
#32 of 44 in Penticton
236 reviews
2.9 mi away
Valley Star Motel
Valley Star Motel
#3 of 44 in Penticton
152 reviews
7.5 mi away
Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Penticton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Penticton Hotel

Property: Coast Penticton Hotel
Address: 950 Westminster Ave W, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1L2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast Penticton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Coast Penticton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Lodge Penticton
Travelodge Penticton
Penticton Travelodge
Penticton Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing