We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful place”
Review of The Bench Market

The Bench Market
Ranked #3 of 195 Restaurants in Penticton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$11
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: The Bench Market is set at the entrance to the much-travelled Naramata Bench winery route. The Bench offers daily light breakfast, weekend brunch, baked goods, gourmet lunch, takeaway meals, catering, and grocery - along with the best coffee in town, made using locally-roasted organic beans. The healthy menu items are made from scratch using fresh, local ingredients. All meats and eggs are from BC-raised, ethically treated animals. And the shelves are stocked with a wide variety of unique, local artisan grocery items. Stop by and see how we're "keeping it local and making it fresh!"
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delightful place”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were looking to have brunch somewhere off the beaten path....this was it. A cute little cafe/market in a residential neighbourhood. Its not a large place resulting in limited seating, so there can be a bit of a wait to get a table. However, you can go in and get yourself a coffee while you wait. They have a good size patio out front and a dozen tables, give or take, inside. The service was very friendly and the food was great. We both had their eggs Benny with roasted nugget and sweet potatoes topped with a homemade ketchup which was delicious. My husband had a caramel macchiato that was also very good. We will go back again the next time we visit Penticton.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennybean39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    103
    19
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good place for a small town.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

While visiting in Penticton BC I inquired as to where I'd find a good espresso. I was told that hands-down the Bench was the place. I was a bit disappointed. Not of the caliber one can find in Vancouver. The Baristas I don't think are trained to make top-notch espresso and espresso-based drinks. The equipment being used is not high-end. And the coffee being used - Backyard Beans - is roasted too dark for contemporary tastes. Having said that, it is obvious that most people there do really enjoy it. Their tastes may have not adapted to the lighter roasts now found in the bigger cities. The customers I feel are quite content with what they're getting. So who am I to try and burst anyone's bubble? I didn't try the food, but it looked good and again seemed popular. The atmosphere is great. Sitting outside shaded from the hot morning sun was really nice. I did like the place. That's why I gave it four stars. But the coffee is somewhat lacking.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Visuddhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBenchMarket, Owner at The Bench Market, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your comments.
We appreciate that there are varying tastes for coffee - we occasionally hear that the coffee is too strong or too weak - but we find the vast majority of our customers enjoy our coffee drinks and the roasted beans from Backyard Beans. That being said, we are happy to re-make a coffee drink if it does not meet your expectation. We pride ourselves on providing a great service & food/drink experience.
We invite you to stop by the Bench again when you're next in Penticton...
Thanks, Stewart & Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yummm...this hit the spot”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stopped here for lunch and were treated to delicious paninis, salads and lemonades. The service was quick and friendly. The food was excellent and fresh, and the location was nice and low-key. We will be back next time we're in town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank exzhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBenchMarket, Owner at The Bench Market, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Glad you enjoyed your lunch so much - see you again when you're next in Penticton! Stewart & Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food BUT that only goes so far....”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We live in Penticton so we are knowledgeable of what the area offers. The sandwich we shared was terrific but horribly overpriced considering that was the only thing on the plate...you'd expect fries or some carrot sticks at the least. We also had the "bench balls" for dessert and coffee which were also exceptional. Everything totaled just over $18. Staff was very disorganized and we stood in line with the other sheep waiting for one of the 3 staff members behind the prep counter to serve us while the cashier keep calling to those employees who just ignored her and continued with their conversation. Tables & chairs are in disrepair and wobbly and we changed seating 3X but finally resigned ourselves that there were no secure seats to be had. If you are willing to put up with faulty systems in place & crappy service, you will get exceptional food but be prepared to swallow a big bill. Perhaps the tourists & local 20-something hipsters will put up with this, but we'll think of other venues next time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBenchMarket, Owner at The Bench Market, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent experience at the Bench.
We have checked the seating and have improved chairs - but are also looking to replace some that still seem wobbly.
We have systems in place for taking orders and preparing food. It sounds, though, that you unfortunately didn't have a positive experience with getting your order in. We apologize for the disorganization. We have addressed this with our staff.
We are pleased that you found your sandwich, Bench balls and coffees to be exceptional. We pride ourselves on using top-quality, local sustainable ingredients to make our menu items from scratch, which does cost more money but creates a superior product.
We hope you'll give the Bench Market another try.
Thanks, Stewart & Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“over priced”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The food here is fine but expensive for a sandwich with no side. Seems overrated. I have been several times over the years and I would rather just go to il vecchios.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank honest_pen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBenchMarket, Owner at The Bench Market, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for the feedback.
We pride ourselves on using top-quality, local ingredients such as organic vegetables and fruit, and meats from ethically-treated animals - ingredients that do cost more than their mass-produced counterparts. We think this creates a superior product that our customers enjoy and that the staff are proud to serve. And going local supports other small businesses in the community.
We hope you'll come by for another meal sometime soon... Stewart & Heather, owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bench Market also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to The Bench Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing