We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good service”
Review of Red Rooster Winery

Red Rooster Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$105.22*
and up
Painting Class Experience at Okanagan Vineyard with Optional Lunch and Winery...
Ranked #16 of 84 things to do in Penticton
Attraction details
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good service”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Kevin took care of us and we had a great moment to taste Red Roaster Wines
they don't have a tour of the estate
the view is great

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andre777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    41
    16
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Mermaid Sculpture”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The staff were friendly and we were pleasantly surprised that the tasting was free! What more could you ask for? This was definitely one of those situations where we lucked out. The gentleman that conducted our tastings was friendly and we felt really comfortable taking our time and asking questions. He even volunteered to take a group photo for us! Also, there's a mermaid sculpture on the grounds!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank EvelynLoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Non-existent Customer Service!”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

If i could give them a zero score, I would!
We were totally ignored at the entrance of the restaurant,waiting to be reeived and seated. After 5 minutes of still watching the staff walk by us while completely ignoring our presence, we seated ourselves at a table - Still no service, no acknowledgements, no menus, no glass of water, nothing! After an upsetting wait of over 20 minutes to be serviced, we finally got up and left! Needless to say we found better reception and service at the other wineries and will NOT be returning to this one again! They simply dont want your business, so why bother!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ShivaniMohan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“NICE LUNCH WITH A BEAUTIFUL VIEW”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stopped,on a very hot day, not for wine tasting but for a spot of lunch.A nice covered patio area with good seating & a beautiful view of the vineyards. The resident chef is Darin Paterson who has the Bogner's restaurant in Penticton. We had the $32 special for two which included two tasting glasses of wine.The starter was a wooden plate with flat bread with hummus & other tapenade which were interesting to the taste and suited the flat bread. The main course was another selection of tapenade plus lamb cooked in two different ways. Wine portions were small.Overall, everything was a good experience and the wine scene around Penticton was an eye opener to us.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrzej116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lunch at Pecking Room, Red Rooster Winery - Fail”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I sent this note to the winery and to the chef - neither bothered to answer:
Friends and I stopped at the Red Rooster winery this weekend to have lunch on your patio. The location and facilities are lovely, the weather was perfect, and the wait staff polite. Unfortunately, those things were not enough to make lunch at the Pecking Room a pleasurable experience for us. To sum it up, this was the most pretentious meal any of us have ever experienced.
- Iced tea - 3/4 of a wine glass of somewhat insipid tea cost $3.50. Seriously..??? At least fill the glass.
- We ordered a selection of the appetizers which were served on boards topped with brown paper and string. For $9 each order, this is what we received:
* either a small bun's worth of bread dough with oil and sesame seeds or 4 dry, plain corn tortillas;
* microscopic amounts of toppings (2 for each order), which included a scant tablespoonful of quinoa with chopped parsley but no discernable flavour or a smeared teaspoon's worth of various spreads (hummus, beet tapenade (?), etc.). None of the ingredients (fulsomely described in the menu) are expensive. Why are the portions so incredibly small??
- The amount of each spread was little more than would be found in a smear of paint on an artist's palette - more form than function. A portion of the meagre offerings were soaked into the string holding the brown paper onto the board or (in the case of the quinoa), hidden beneath it. The presentation was clearly meant for show.
- I expect that everything but the bread was prepared ahead of time, and yet we waited 45 minutes for our orders.
- Looking around, we got the impression that others there were also taken aback by the miniscule portions. They, like us, may have been afraid of looking gauche by making any comment and of making the experience unpleasant or uncomfortable. I firmly believe that we were guilty of the "Emperor has no Clothes" syndrome and perhaps, of excessive Canadian politeness.
- We left the Red Rooster feeling taken advantage of, very hungry and somewhat insulted. We are not unsophisticated diners. Nor are we hard to please. But we did expect value for our money and we did not receive value at the Pecking Room.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank anna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Rooster Winery also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Naramata, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Red Rooster Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing