We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop for a bite to eat on a cycling trip”
Review of Red Rooster Winery

Red Rooster Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$107.14*
and up
Painting Class Experience at Okanagan Vineyard with Optional Lunch and Winery...
Ranked #18 of 84 things to do in Penticton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great stop for a bite to eat on a cycling trip”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We started our day cycling down the Naramata bench from Chute Lake at around 11 am. By the time we hit the Red Rooster Winery (after some meandering and wine tasting), it was just closing its kitchen, at 5 pm. Still, they let us order, and we sat out on the patio and took in the gorgeous view with amazing flatbread and dips, as well as a couple of excellent pizzas. Nice, tangy dough with great air pockets for both the bread and the pizza. The two pizzas we ordered had toppings that were wonderfully balanced and tasty. Plus the wine was excellent! This was a great stop along the bench. We found the options for vegetarians more varied and interesting than Hillside, across the street.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BugandWog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    41
    16
    12
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Disappointed in patio closure”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

On the day we went to have our tasting, compliments of our excellent B&B, there was a party which took over the whole outside patio. The tasting was interesting but the experience disappointing. We had hoped to enjoy our tasting and lunch on the patio. The local B&B's could have been informed of the closure as there was an event held for them on the patio the previous evening. Our hosts were very surprised when we told them of our experience. We will try again next time

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Just_Friends2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good service”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Kevin took care of us and we had a great moment to taste Red Roaster Wines
they don't have a tour of the estate
the view is great

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andre777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Mermaid Sculpture”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The staff were friendly and we were pleasantly surprised that the tasting was free! What more could you ask for? This was definitely one of those situations where we lucked out. The gentleman that conducted our tastings was friendly and we felt really comfortable taking our time and asking questions. He even volunteered to take a group photo for us! Also, there's a mermaid sculpture on the grounds!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank EvelynLoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Non-existent Customer Service!”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

If i could give them a zero score, I would!
We were totally ignored at the entrance of the restaurant,waiting to be reeived and seated. After 5 minutes of still watching the staff walk by us while completely ignoring our presence, we seated ourselves at a table - Still no service, no acknowledgements, no menus, no glass of water, nothing! After an upsetting wait of over 20 minutes to be serviced, we finally got up and left! Needless to say we found better reception and service at the other wineries and will NOT be returning to this one again! They simply dont want your business, so why bother!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ShivaniMohan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Rooster Winery also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Red Rooster Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing