We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wine and a wonderul lunch on the Patio”
Review of Red Rooster Winery

Red Rooster Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$112.61*
and up
Painting Class Experience at Okanagan Vineyard with Optional Lunch and Winery...
Ranked #20 of 90 things to do in Penticton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
233 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great wine and a wonderul lunch on the Patio”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

This is one of our favourite wineries that we visit each time in the Okanagan Valley. Always bringing home wine for future enjoyment.

This time we stayed to enjoy lunch on the patio overlooking Okanagan Lake and the vineyards. The prices are very reasonable and the views priceless.

The salad was made with fresh organic greens, double hung yogurt and flowers for decoration. It cost $9.00 which is not to bad of a price for a lunch. The other meal was Empanadas with a nice flavour to them. Good portions of food and only $14.00. A great opportunity to have some of their wine with your lunch.

Try them out sometime and think about staying for lunch. Some couples were biking up to the vineyard for their lunch.

A wonderful experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    42
    18
    12
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Robbie made us feel welcome, was attentive and fairly instructional during our tasting. The view from the grounds is second to none. Great background for photos. Interesting sculptures. I bought the Syrah for my parent's anniversary next month. Possibly the best ice wine of the trip.

Helpful?
Thank crankychihuahua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An Excellent Experience Again!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We met some friends at the Pecking Room at Red Rooster Winery today. It was their first visit; we have been several times. The food was excellent, portions good, amazing flavours. Service was also efficient and sociable. Everyone had something different and no one was disappointed.

What is disappointing is that when one looks up the Pecking Room on the web, one of the first tripadvisor reviews that pops up is a one year old comment from a patron. It is lengthy and negative. There is a prompt at the beginning of the review for newer info. I don't understand why a single review has received such prominence.

The point is, the location, the food and the service are definitely worth a visit and if you're a foodie - yum!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Willie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Above and beyond customer service ”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my dad came in wondering about tours, they informed us it only happens on weekends so we decided to do some tastings instead . Very informative staff , endless knowledge , every question was answered . A great place to visit if you're in the area !

Helpful?
Thank adamalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Smoked pulled pork was yummy!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stopped by Red Rooster, as it was well past lunch time, and we were famished. At 4:30 they were still serving lunch, lucky for us. We were seated in the patio with a beautiful view of the vineyards and the lake and hills beyond. Initially we were informed that a number of the items on the menu were sold out, and given that we are gluten free, we found the menu quite limited. However, our server and the chef were quite accommodating, and we both eventually settled on the Smoked Pulled Pork. I should note that the corn chips/tortilla are deep fried in oil that has had a gluten product cooked in it, so avoid the chips if you are GF. The pulled pork dish, which we both ordered was very tasty, with a nice combination of flavourful extras (including a house-made potato salad and a beet infused cabbage salad). It was quite delicious and hit the mark for both of us. Thanks to Red Rooster and the attentive server and cook! Nicely done! We also stopped by the tasting room, and tried the Meritage, which is more difficult to find in this area, so were happy to pick up a bottle to take home. Very nice!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Rooster Winery also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Red Rooster Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing