We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Late Dinner”

Misconduct Wine Co.
Ranked #6 of 17 Tours in Penticton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled in the heart of the Okanagan Valley, Misconduct Wine Co & The Kitchen is a unique wine and gastro experience. "Irreverent, passionate, and certainly bold. As terroir negociants with over 60+ years of family farming, we believe terroir trumps all. As we say at Misconduct, Know where your wine grows!"
Lynchburg, Virginia
2 reviews
“Great Late Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

After wine tasting I stopped in and had a great meal on the deck. I was very surprised by some unique combinations on the menu but their grilled veggie mix is an amazing snack with their Misfit White. Both my wife and I loved the "Mac and Cheese." It was completely loaded with mushrooms and a savory cream sauce that is completely different from any American style Mac and Cheese you'll get anywhere.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank m p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    18
    5
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't beat the view, or the tapas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We were staying at a suite across the street and had heard that The Kitchen was a great place to go for tapas at sunset. So we meandered over was evening and after walking around the building twice, finally discovered that you enter through the actual kitchen once the winery itself closes for the day. We chose a patio seat and were awe-struck by the view: wine barrels resting against freshly cut grass, vineyard rows as far as the eye can see and the sun going down behind the mountains.

Our server was friendly and very knowledgeable about Misconduct’s wines and how they paired with the tapas. She recommended the Rose and it was a huge hit for both of us! We ordered four tapas to share, including the tuna and guac, cheviche, calamari and mussels and clams dish. They came on one plate with a warm, fresh baguette on the side. Each bite was a delicious treat and I just didn’t want it to end! I would highly recommend taking in the sunset, the wine and the scrumptious tapas at this fine establishment.

Helpful?
Thank Nicole_C_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Honest meals at a great place excellent prepared”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

What a great experience. On vacation in Okanagan we wanted to eat at a winery. So we checked for one close to Penticton. Without any knowledge or recommendation we went to Misconduct winery that has a restaurant called The Kitchen. The Portuguese/Spanis menu is small but great dishes. My experience in general is the shorter the menu the better. And that was no difference here as the kitchen can source the ingredients better and focus on the preparation of meals without having to know too many techniques if you have many different dishes.

We first ordered their Sangria. Looks nice and tastes great.
We started of with grilled sardines and mussels prepared in rose/garlic. Excellent. Then we had their 'Caesar' salad. This shortly grilled (!!!) Romaine lettuce with maple syrup and mayo dressing topped with Parmesan cheese was the highlight. Then we had our Paella. Greatly flavoured rice, the most difficult part of the dish. For desert we had chocolate fond with berries compote. Hmmm.
The Misfit white wine with the Paella was an excellent pairing.

Was there nothing wrong? Not much. Price/quality is excellent. Service was good (maybe a little bit more knowledge regarding the wine pairing would have helped). Scenery is great.

Helpful?
Thank Frank v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Kitchen at Misconduct”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Had a great meal on their deck this weekend. The waitress was great and the food excellent. The Paella a must. It was very hot, but with mister's on the deck it was comfortable. Eat around sunset to get the best experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jepappeldds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love the Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stopped here on a whim because we thought the name sounded interesting. We loved the theme of the whole place and the wines were also excellent. We ended up leaving with a bottle of red and a white. In the end we were very glad we stopped and would come back again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank burniebison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Misconduct Wine Co. also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Misconduct Wine Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing