We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hard to find gem.”

Bisto 535 & from Athena's Kitchen
Price range: US$6 - US$24
Cuisines: Gastropub, Fusion, Wine Bar
Description: Newly opened wine bar & kitchen featuring 16 wines by the glass and an extensive wine bottle menu. Award winning Head Chef Michel Leger's globally inspired food menu features tapas, great salads, sandwiches, juicy burgers, CAB steaks and signature mains. Enjoy!
Restaurant details
Description: Newly opened wine bar & kitchen featuring 16 wines by the glass and an extensive wine bottle menu. Award winning Head Chef Michel Leger's globally inspired food menu features tapas, great salads, sandwiches, juicy burgers, CAB steaks and signature mains. Enjoy!
Vernon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“A hard to find gem.”
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

It's rare that you happen upon a random little bistro that ends up truly surprising you. The name on Trip Advisor is misleading as this place has a dual personality. Part Greek and part modern Canadian cuisine.

The warmth and personal service by Athena and Chef Michel make this place a must.

The food is all excellent and priced so fairly that this is my favorite new stop on my way through Penticton.

Don't forget to grab some authentic Greek Pastries to go.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“My New Favorite Penticton Restaurant”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

I've only been to this restaurant once, but I'm definitely going back. We ordered the $29.99 special dinner for two. The minestrone and the creamy basil tomato soups were excellent. The greek salad that accompanied my entree was very fresh and tasty, and both entrees were good. Garlic toast also accompanied the entrees. The generous sized desserts were very yummy and your choice of coffee or tea was included in this special.

The service was friendly and fast.

The menu contained a wide variety of choices including greek dishes, pasta's, pizza and burgers. Servings are generous,

Its not a fancy place, but its comfortable and clean. You will be made feel very welcome. This restaurant is definitely worth trying.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YuccaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I've eaten at a lot of places in Penticton and this is one of THE best, you have to try it!!”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I stopped by this place on a whim looking for a wrap for lunch and left with a whole bag full of food! The service was so warm and friendly, they made me feel like they really valued my patronage. The wrap that I ordered was delicious, the panko crusted chicken was moist and the sauce they used was to die for! While I was waiting I saw another couple get served pizza, it looked incredible, perfect portion for a large lunch or for supper, I can't wait to go back and try it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paige H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quality Food in an Unpretentious Package”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

A quick initial note: Bistro 535 and From Athena's Kitchen are both the same restaurant operated out of the same place. Athena maintains her own menu of Greek food while her partner Michel takes care of the 'standard' menu.

Since this restaurant opened, I've lost count of the times I've eaten there! It might look a bit seedy at the outset, given that it's located in the same building as a former nightclub, but if you're looking for delicious, from-scratch food made by people who genuinely care, then you won't be disappointed.

The atmosphere's not much to write home about - the seating area is quite small and can be a little bit drafty when the door opens in cold weather. Athena's warm welcome more than makes up for this!

The food is what you're really there for, anyway. They maintain a standard menu filled with the usual diner fare: burgers, sandwiches, salads. Their individual-size pizzas are delicious and a great value for the size of them. They also maintain the Athena's menu which has a variety of Greek options. In addition to those, they feature weekly specials, which to me are the real gems. These dishes run the gamut, from Thai coconut chicken curry, to roast lamb shoulder, to chicken vol-au-vents.

Their $30 three-course dinner-for-two is a great value, and finishes with one of Athena's delicious Greek baked sweets.

Athena and Michel are more than happy to make meal modifications necessary to accommodate special dietary requirements or preferences. As almost everything is made from scratch on order, most adjustments are a pretty simple matter.

There's seating out front of the business, but is limited to two-seater cafe tables due to the space limitation, and a bit impractical for a full-on meal but great for having a coffee.

Overall, if you're after a quality meal in a laid-back setting, give this place a shot! Not licensed as far as I can tell, and I don't know if it's on their agenda as they still seem to be ironing out some of the wrinkles, business-side.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank help_im_a_bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great Moussaka, a great bakery, and delightful owners”
Reviewed 21 December 2012

This place has been going for a few months now, and is a combination of a 'bistro' and a Greek restaurant. It was originally open for breakfast and lunch.....but a few months ago decided to open later and close later......and added some wonderful dinner specials. The night my wife and I went we ordered the Moussaka and the Pastitsio. Both were good.....although the latter could have used a bit more ground meat. But the moussaka was superb.......and so reasonably priced. Just as much, we enjoyed the delightful conversation with Athena.....one of the two owners. She's part of a long-time Okanagan family who has owned and managed many a restaurant. She also teaches English and (I think) drama part time at the high. And at the end of the conversation she insisted we each have a free dessert..........which were amazing. We shall definitely be back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LarryTheRadioGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bisto 535 & from Athena's Kitchen also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing